Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F5 Turbo Builders Thread
F5 Turbo Builders Thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st December 2012, 07:20 PM   #711
buzzforb is offline buzzforb  United States
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marra View Post
Thanks for confirming what I was thinking.Do I stick with two pairs of outputs and bias high or try four and bias lower.I guess its try both and see which I prefer.
Try v2. Stepping is no problem, but will require bigger PSU and toroid. More pairs means more total Yfs and DF. Also lower bandwidth. Really unnecessary unless you need the power. Main reason I am building up stereo versionis to see if Wayne is right and more equals better sound.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2012, 08:35 PM   #712
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
8 pair? that is just insane i hope there is dual input pairs too
Whatever it takes , thinking of seperate supplies ala XA -series, even dutchie would be impressed ....

  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2012, 08:45 PM   #713
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
aha. a X-ed turbo V3. then there will be dual input fets
but it's stil insane
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2012, 08:49 PM   #714
buzzforb is offline buzzforb  United States
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Definitely got to go balanced at that point.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2012, 09:05 PM   #715
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
yes
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2012, 11:57 PM   #716
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
BigE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
OK, I'm *very* confused.

I can't understand a whole bunch of AndrewT's post. So, I go back to the F5 manual, and try to turn all the pairs into a single pair.

When I look at the F5 manual, I can see where the 62 watt dissipation per channel comes from:

One pair of devices, Rails are +/-24 volts, the Ib = 1.3 per device.

That's either (2 x 1.3A) x 24 or (1.3 X 48) = 62 watts

Two channels gives you 124 VAbias. Sizing the transfomer for twice that gives you 248 VA. A 300 VA is more than enough transformer.

Output power I^2 * R = 2.6 * 2.6 * 8 = 54 Wpeak = 27 Wrms.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Let's change the bias a little.

One pair of devices, Rails are +/-24 volts, the Ib = 1.5 per device. 3 amp total.

That's either (2 x 1.5A) x 24 or (1.5 X 48) = 72

Two channels gives you 144 VAbias. Sizing the transfomer for twice that gives you 288 VA. A 300 VA is still enough transformer.

Class A Output power I^2 * R = 3 * 3 * 8 = 72 Wpeak = 36 Wrms.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Try 2 pairs of devices, 3 Amp total and 50 volt rails. Ib = 0.75 A per device.

If this was one pair, it would be 1.5 amp each device.

Class A Output power: ( 3 * 3 * 8) = 72 Wpeak = 36 Wrms.

NOTICE THAT THE CLASS A OUTPUT POWER DOES NOT CHANGE, since it is biased to the same current.

Sizing the transformer: That's either (2 x 1.5 A) x 50 or (1.5 X 100) = 150 VA. Double that for 300 VA. Two channels is 600 va.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

4 pairs ( 8 devices ) 6 amp total ( 0.75 amps/device). If it was one pair, it would be 3 amps/device.

Class A output power: ( 6 * 6 * 8 ) = 288 Wpeak = 144 Wrms.

Sizing the transformer: That's either (2 x 3 A) x 50 = 3 x 100 = 300 VA. Double that for 600 VA. Two channels is 1.2 Kva.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Are these numbers reasonable?
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2012, 12:20 AM   #717
buzzforb is offline buzzforb  United States
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
A toroid that is 3 to 5 times the dissipation amount is the best way to calculate things. Bigger is almost always better in this case. For exact theory, look on ESP site.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2012, 12:23 AM   #718
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
F5 Turbo Builders Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigE
A 300 VA is more than enough transformer.
For a standard F5? Yes, certainly. It's what Nelson uses in the factory built ones.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2012, 04:37 AM   #719
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
Definitely got to go balanced at that point.
Not where I'm going......
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2012, 05:00 AM   #720
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
bigE those numbers are correct. exept for the last one. the rail voltage is to low to reach 144W at 8ohm. same for number 2 and as buzzbord said. transformer rating of 3times dissipation is a good way to go. 2 times is minimum. i like 3 times. that gives you more headroom and lower temp in the transformer. but when a transformer reach a certain size, then bigger is not allways better
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F5 Turbo Builders ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2404 8th October 2017 08:14 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 722 16th November 2016 08:26 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 636 13th January 2016 12:05 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2017 diyAudio
Wiki