F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 181 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st April 2013, 08:14 AM   #1801
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Apex has shown a triac style speaker protector that can be added to the speaker rather than to the amplifier. It uses the speaker signal to trigger itself.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2013, 08:15 AM   #1802
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Soft start is usually applied to the mains switching before the mains transformer. It would be less safe to incorporate all the mains switching to a PCB that also connects to the speaker cables.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2013, 07:51 PM   #1803
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
Here ya to V3. No diodes, but overal bias higher than my V2. No miller compensation cap for instability. No heavy testing, but small stuff checks out fine.
Buzz,

In this setup on your photo you did use the 'jumper' on the PSU boards, to connect the two grounds.
But in my setup with the two PSU boards separated, should I connect this 'jumper'? Or put a ground wire of each PSU board to the F5T convertible AMP board?
Because on the AMP boards there is a coppertrack on both sides connecting the two PSU-G 's. So i think I will introduce a ground loop if I connect the 'jumper' on the PSU boards also...

Are you still with me? Sorry if it is not clear...
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2013, 08:19 PM   #1804
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
That point becomes star ground. It is from that point that you ground the entire circuit to earth through the CL60/Bridge combo(Ground lift). What is important is that you have a central point to return all the power grounds to. The main board becomes your star ground for the signal wires. In truth, you could take signal grounds to PSU as well, but it is convenient and noise free just to take them to the boards, plus it allows for twisted pairs to the inputs and outputs.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 02:38 PM   #1805
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Thanks for your answer, Buzz !
I don't understand the last lines...
Made two pictures of what I mean. Which one is preferred?
Grounding of an Amp is always an issue...

Grzz, Walter
Attached Images
File Type: jpg like this 1.jpg (365.5 KB, 311 views)
File Type: jpg like this 2.jpg (371.1 KB, 299 views)
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 02:44 PM   #1806
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Trace out the route followed by the speaker current from PSU back to PSU for both schemes.
I think you will find that both are flawed.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 03:25 PM   #1807
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Hi Andrew, this is better?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg like this 1v2.jpg (367.3 KB, 283 views)
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 03:28 PM   #1808
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Neither are ideal, but the first one is best option. I dont expect noise issues, but you know where to look if you have them.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 03:31 PM   #1809
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Thanks for helping! Is there a better way to do it, with this setup?
I'm very open to suggestions
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 03:32 PM   #1810
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I would try it and see if there is even any issue.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2347 14th July 2014 02:19 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2