Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th February 2013, 01:55 AM   #1251
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I didnt realize how blurry it was. The blue is loopback showing soundcard distortion and the red is the distortion of the F5T at 1W. Its a breakdown of the harmonic structure of the distortion. Like I said, I am not 100% sure of its validity, but i think it is right. My ears seem to agree
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 01:57 AM   #1252
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
You like it? I'm currently building mine...
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 02:15 AM   #1253
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Yes. It is very good from top to bottom. I cant say that it is my favorite, but that is yet to be decided. I have to bring forth proper competition. I did not like the F5, and hearing the F5T has sold me on the multiple output concept. Of course my system has to be considered.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 12:28 PM   #1254
Marra is offline Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
I decided to check out my p/s so hooked up the transformer/rectifiers and caps which loaded with nothing more than 3k3 bleed resistors and a couple of led's is giving me +- 38V dc.What sort of voltage drop can I expect with a V2 amp?
The transformer is 350VA with 25-0-25 secondaries.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 01:11 PM   #1255
Nikitas is offline Nikitas  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Amsterdam
You should be careful with 38V. It's not extreme, but it is risky.
What do you mean <<What sort of voltage drop can I expect with a V2 amp?>>?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 01:16 PM   #1256
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
multiply your secondary times 1.3 for a good approximation. 38v is fine as long as you you the cascaded version, but iexpect your rail to be closer to around 34V loaded. 350VA is going to be strugglinf under fully biased V2 unless your have dual mono setup.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 01:53 PM   #1257
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
To be honest I would not use anything less that 650VA for the V2. Even better would be 2 X 500VA for a dual mono setup.

For a V3 I would definitely suggest monoblocks, with a 750VA as minimum per monoblock and 1000VA as a comfortable requirement.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 02:00 PM   #1258
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
BTW, it would be interesting to compare the V2 with my KSA50 clone. Both of these should be good at the bottom. The top is where I believe the V2 could be better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 02:00 PM   #1259
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I would be willing to bet it will crush it sonically.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2013, 02:15 PM   #1260
Marra is offline Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
Sorry I should have said this is per channel.I used the transformers previously to power an Aleph 5 without any problems and the voltages sat at +-34/35 volts.It will be cascoded. I am rubbish with the math
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 694 25th February 2014 06:29 PM
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2327 8th January 2014 02:14 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2