F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 107 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th January 2013, 08:14 AM   #1061
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
i'm also building chassis my self. and for the turbo v3's. i'm looking at $500 in material. NOT inkl heatsinks. and NOT inkl CNC of logo. and after all that, i need to lay out a finnish.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 08:29 AM   #1062
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
That case that I made for the KSA50 worked out to about $500 in material, inclusive of the heatsinks. But then I must say Aluminium is cheap in SA compared to Europe. But I still need to cost in the CNC work for my front plate.

I will probably order my trafo from Amplimo or Toroidy and that is where you save again, since I have to factor in shipment. I am dissappointed with the quality of the 2 500VA trafos that a local company wound for me as used in the KSA50 clone.

For the F5TV3 monoblocks I am looking at maybe a 1KVA trafo for each monoblock, and that will cost me an arm an a leg from either of those 2 suppliers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 09:57 AM   #1063
bkdog is offline bkdog  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: in a house
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
i need to lay out a finnish.
What have you guys got against the Finns? I know a few and they are ok, they like reindeer etc etc...

[sorry, could not resist... ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 01:09 PM   #1064
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdog View Post
What have you guys got against the Finns? I know a few and they are ok, they like reindeer etc etc...

[sorry, could not resist... ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 01:31 PM   #1065
dazed2 is offline dazed2  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Yes you can never underestimate the cost and time involved in building the case.
The reason my original F5 took so long was that I built my own case. Borrowing time off a friends mini-cnc, tapping holes etc. took over 2 months!

This time, I plan to have Antek / Par Metal build it for me They even have the heatsinks to boot!

As for trafo, given the size of 1kVA anywhere of about $130 - $200US isn't bad.
No one said a F5T V3 is cheap
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 04:59 PM   #1066
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Check out Antek Transformers. 1kv @35V x4 is $100 USD + shipping.
Antek - AN-10435
I've used one of their TX in my F5 for years and it NEVER gets hot or buzzes.
No affiliation to Antek.
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 07:44 PM   #1067
PKI is offline PKI  United States
diyAudio Member
 
PKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Any news on the store F5T pcb's?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 09:56 PM   #1068
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Buzz,
Any news on ToeCutters?
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 10:01 PM   #1069
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I know beta testers have them and from what I understand, all is OK. THey may be working out specifics and BOM. The store has them, just havent released them officially.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2013, 02:01 PM   #1070
Marra is online now Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
Power up FE first and set drop across r5,r6 to 3.5V using P1 and P2. THis will allow you to figure out which way to turn the posts in order to adjust them. You will be starting at similar Vgs and will have solid footing for hooking up mosfets and firing them up.
After doing the above do you set the trimmers back to zero?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2363 27th September 2014 02:10 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2