F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 106 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th January 2013, 01:46 AM   #1051
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
First part yes. Second part, comditional.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 04:02 PM   #1052
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Hello AudioSan,

Would you put the PS caps together with the Transformer, with the electronics or split them up?
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 05:04 PM   #1053
Rush is online now Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigE View Post
Hello AudioSan,

Would you put the PS caps together with the Transformer, with the electronics or split them up?
I would put 1/2 & 1/2 the wire between acts like a low value resistor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 05:13 PM   #1054
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigE View Post
Hello AudioSan,

Would you put the PS caps together with the Transformer, with the electronics or split them up?
if you'r thinking of in the same chassis, so yes.
the transformer will be in the front, then the cap bank and front-end board in the back.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 07:18 PM   #1055
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
I'm thinking of the transformer in a seperate enclosure, from the electronics, and two umbilical cords to the electronics - one enclosure per channel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2013, 07:34 PM   #1056
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
okei. no i use one chassis for all.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 04:47 AM   #1057
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
What sort of speaker protection are you guys thinking of using? Or none at all?

I am not really crazy about using protection with relays in the speaker circuit. Not with the amount of current that the F5TV3 is able to generate on the output. Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 05:04 AM   #1058
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
i'm going for NONE
when there is more then one pair of outputs, the risk of total failure decrices.
if one output fails. the outhers keep on going. exept if it shorts. then it most likely is construction fault. i've run my dual output F5 for allmost 1 year now. whitout a hickup. and no protection
i also did run some aleph 2 monoblocks for one year. whitout protection. on one of those i had a output failure. one transistor burned up. i did't notice it before 2-3weeks later no problem. the amp did keep on playing

Last edited by AudioSan; 15th January 2013 at 05:12 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 07:04 AM   #1059
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
That is what I am also aiming for. Anyway, that is how I am doing my KSA50 clone that is now almost complete.

BTW, one should never underestimate the amount of work and cost involved in building a decent case for a Class A monster. Besides the cost in metal, it is the time as well as tooling costs if you have not got all the tools yet. I am doing the cases usually by hand as I love metalworking also (No CNC and milling by machines, just a Tablesaw, Drill and a bunch of files).

I bought a M6 Counterbore the other day sothat I can hide the heads of my capscrews, and it cost me a whopping R400 (about $50 US). Maybe I should import my tools also.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 07:15 AM   #1060
henryve is offline henryve  South Africa
diyAudio Member
 
henryve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Strand
This is basically what I have done for my KSA50 clone (decorative front plate still missing and vent holes for top and bottom still needs to be drilled).

I am planning to do the same for each of my F5TV3 monoblocks.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...1&d=1358237586
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_1595.JPG (293.3 KB, 330 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2356 12th September 2014 07:50 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2