F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 102 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th January 2013, 01:03 AM   #1011
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
aha that will do the job right now i only got standar wirewound 5W. but i do want to get some mills at least R7-R10(feedback resistors)
all others are dale CFM60. exept R2. (i forgot to order it) so i used what i had. it will not make much difference after all

Last edited by AudioSan; 11th January 2013 at 01:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:13 AM   #1012
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Definitely at point of tweaking.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:19 AM   #1013
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Three chassis stereo amps make for expensive umbilical cords and a whole row of amp cases.

If effy is 25%, then a 100 watt class A amp will dissipate 400 watts at idle. One measure of xformer size is 3-5 times dissipation, so 1.6Kva will only be good for one channel anyway. Then two boxes is a must, or you can't lift it anyway.

This is going to be expensive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:22 AM   #1014
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
2-3 times dissipation is good. so 600+VA pr ch of v3. i'll use 1000VA pr channel. but only becouse i allready got them
and a 100W F5 will consume about 250W

Last edited by AudioSan; 11th January 2013 at 01:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:22 AM   #1015
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
Definitely at point of tweaking.
yes. i have to leave something for tweeking
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:26 AM   #1016
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Don't get mad at me If you notice a difference. This weekend, Salaa RIAA with SMD.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:31 AM   #1017
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:34 AM   #1018
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
2-3 times dissipation is good. so 600+VA pr ch of v3. i'll use 1000VA pr channel. but only becouse i allready got them
and a 100W F5 will consume about 250W
100W class-a =400watts consumption ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 01:40 AM   #1019
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
100W class-a =400watts consumption ...
there is nothing to back up that
F5 at 100W @8ohm= 40V swing at the output. you will get that easely with +/-45V rails.
and 2.5A bias = 100W class A. (2.5*2)*(2.5*2)*8/2=100W.
45V*2.5A *2 = 225W dissipation pr channel
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2013, 02:10 AM   #1020
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Then what's all this about efficiency of class A being 25%? This amp is about 100/225! or 44%

So 1.6KVa is just fine for a stereo amp -- tall but still just one box. The problem with the height is: How do you bias it?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2347 14th July 2014 02:19 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2