F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 10 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2012, 08:49 PM   #91
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Is'nt Nelson saying 800 Khz bandwith using twin pairs /32 v rails?
I am lost.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2012, 09:48 PM   #92
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Yep, with more gain.

800 with 2 pair, so ~200 with 8 pair.
From 28V peak to 70Vpeak, 200 divided by 2.5, makes 80KHz bandwidth.
To get back to 800, minimum would be 10 JFET pairs.
(28 for the original F5)

10, 12, or 28.
6 of one or half a dozen of the other, all the same.
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 01:15 AM   #93
Nanook is offline Nanook  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Nanook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chinook Country.Alberta
Default The only F5 Turbo I know of ...

...looks like this. Oops, that's a R5 Turbo.

What's a F5 Turbo?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg renault-r5-turbo.jpg (45.7 KB, 1095 views)
__________________
stew -"A sane man in an insane world appears insane."
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2012, 04:02 AM   #94
sippy is offline sippy  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Hehe......
little known fact about the R5 turbo - the turbo charger was rated at 50 'in stage' Minutes !!!!!
An F5 Turbo might run as hot as one of these hyper active shopping trollies. I'm lucky enough to know some one who owns one AND I've had a few rides in it, it makes some of the most amazing whooshes, bangs, burps and pinging noises I've ever heard......no room for ICE - not that you'd be able to hear it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 02:17 PM   #95
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Start building a V1 without P3, hope everything going smooth

PS, life without a decent camera is a crime
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f5t_v1.jpg (176.2 KB, 1009 views)
__________________
~.~

Last edited by chchyong89; 8th March 2012 at 02:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 02:51 PM   #96
thanong is offline thanong  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle,Washington state,USA
Default F 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by chchyong89 View Post
Start building a V1 without P3, hope everything going smooth

PS, life without a decent camera is a crime
Hi chchyong89,I would have that board.Where you got from.Can you give me a detail please.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 03:15 PM   #97
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanong View Post
Hi chchyong89,I would have that board.Where you got from.Can you give me a detail please.

I sent my layout for fabrication. Try paying attention this thread, maybe someone will run a group buy
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 03:21 PM   #98
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanook View Post
...looks like this. Oops, that's a R5 Turbo.

What's a F5 Turbo?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sippy View Post
Hehe......
little known fact about the R5 turbo - the turbo charger was rated at 50 'in stage' Minutes !!!!!
An F5 Turbo might run as hot as one of these hyper active shopping trollies. I'm lucky enough to know some one who owns one AND I've had a few rides in it, it makes some of the most amazing whooshes, bangs, burps and pinging noises I've ever heard......no room for ICE - not that you'd be able to hear it.
OT... I have an 300 bhp one here , great little car no brakes ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 06:22 PM   #99
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
Default bandwidth?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
800 with 2 pair, so ~200 with 8 pair.
From 28V peak to 70Vpeak, 200 divided by 2.5, makes 80KHz bandwidth.
To get back to 800, minimum would be 10 JFET pairs.
I'm a beginner. I understand basic concepts. What does 'bandwidth' mean for an amplifier? I don't quite understand what 800Khz bandwidth means and how it is better or worse than 80Khz. Maybe someone could expand on this?
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2012, 09:28 PM   #100
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
What about googling "amplifier bandwidth"
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2347 14th July 2014 02:19 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2