F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 71 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th February 2012, 12:32 AM   #701
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
Does anyone have a rough estimate about heatsink size requirement for the V2 combo board? I was looking for a GB for sinks..
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 01:30 AM   #702
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrg2009 View Post
Does anyone have a rough estimate about heatsink size requirement for the V2 combo board? I was looking for a GB for sinks..
The size depends on whether you are willing to use a quiet fan or just use natural convection. With a fan you get 3x-4x smaller heatsink.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 02:14 AM   #703
koja is offline koja  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Windsor
i already let Andy know but for the record:
For me please:

2 input stage boards (70x70mm)
8 single fet output boards (35x50mm),
and please try to make the dimensions stick. no more changes pls Thx.
---------------
Now, if you guys would get past sharing your heatsink designs (everybody's different, Ok, so no details pls..):

Is there some interest maybe in discussing getting matched fets? at least P-to-P and N-to-N matched and then P-to-N side will be left to the trimmer?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 03:25 AM   #704
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
I am not sure why anyone would prefer to use 2 heatsinks with the V2 combo board. The 50 mm MOSFET spacing is too close. That spacing would be optimal spacing for a heatsink that is 100 mm wide.
With the new change, I'm not sure how I'm going to be implementing my design now.

Here's my sink profile:

Click the image to open in full size.

The section is 7" wide and if you look close enough, it is raised in the middle. The older V2 design would be ideal as the devices would be close to the raised center bit, which is also the thickest.

As part of building it I was having it milled fully flat and also using a copper heatspreader, but the devices being close to the bulky bit of the sink would have really helped. I was putting two of these side-by-side, for a 14" wide case.

My F5 used one sink per channel, here it will be two monoblocks with two sinks each, about 12" tall each - four feet of heatsink should be sufficient for a stereo V2.

Click the image to open in full size.

Me sad with the new V2 design
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 04:05 AM   #705
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by sangram View Post
With the new change, I'm not sure how I'm going to be implementing my design now.

Here's my sink profile:



The section is 7" wide and if you look close enough, it is raised in the middle. The older V2 design would be ideal as the devices would be close to the raised center bit, which is also the thickest.

As part of building it I was having it milled fully flat and also using a copper heatspreader, but the devices being close to the bulky bit of the sink would have really helped. I was putting two of these side-by-side, for a 14" wide case.

My F5 used one sink per channel, here it will be two monoblocks with two sinks each, about 12" tall each - four feet of heatsink should be sufficient for a stereo V2.



Me sad with the new V2 design

Very interesting heatsinks. The single MOSFET boards have a pitch of 35 mm and should work with those heatsinks. The main downside is that a separate input stage card must be mounted and wired. It might be prefereable on those heatsinks to mount the MOSFETs vertically rather than side-by-side.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 04:22 AM   #706
sangram is offline sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
Would have preferred to not use wires.

I was thinking of a large 3"x8mm copper bar as a heatspreader.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 08:50 AM   #707
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North west England
Andy

Please can I ask for an extra two holes on the input board. These would be somewhere C5 and R29 (perhaps near the kink in the track) and between C6 and R30. These will help people building the balanced version to enable the cascade devices to share the same reference voltages as per Papa's schematic.

So in the balanced version R25, R27 C5, R26, R28 and C6 will be omitted. Two wires will then join the corresponding points on the two boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 09:16 AM   #708
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Andy,

Please change my V2 amp PCBs to 4,

Leave PSU at 2 please.

great work you have achieved on these PCBs
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 09:44 AM   #709
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalkandtalk View Post
Andy

Please can I ask for an extra two holes on the input board. These would be somewhere C5 and R29 (perhaps near the kink in the track) and between C6 and R30. These will help people building the balanced version to enable the cascade devices to share the same reference voltages as per Papa's schematic.

So in the balanced version R25, R27 C5, R26, R28 and C6 will be omitted. Two wires will then join the corresponding points on the two boards.
Chalk,

Papa's schematic for the balanced V3 is simplified.
I don't know that you will omit those components. Perhaps somebody else could comment. Papa does say that sharing the same reference voltages is not a requirement.
There is already a provision to connect the two input boards together. A jumper is used across the two positions marked ----link---- if an SE version is being built, if a balanced version is being built the farthest right position connects to the other input board.

When you say holes, I presume you mean pads?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2012, 11:02 AM   #710
Ferrari is offline Ferrari  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Andy,
Please put me down for:

4x V2 Combo boards
2x PSU boards

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 07:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2