F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 61 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2012, 05:38 PM   #601
Horio is offline Horio  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Horio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Andy,

On the V3 output board, is there a way we can shave a little bit off the width (maybe make it a 225mm long board). For those of us who are wanting to build balanced mono-blocks, we have to mount (2) output boards per side of the chassis. Unfortunately a 250mm wide board probably means having to use a pair of 300mm sinks on each side of the monoblock (that is one deep amp). Shaving a little bit off the length of the board would allow us to use 250mm sinks, which there are many to choose from. You could probably shave 10mm off the left side of the board alone, without having to even mess with the FET spacing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 05:41 PM   #602
MB500 is offline MB500  Sweden
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sweden
Andy

I'm building a V2 stereo amplifier so put me down for:

2 V2 combo boards
1 PSU board

I really appreciate all your work
Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 05:52 PM   #603
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horio View Post
Andy,

On the V3 output board, is there a way we can shave a little bit off the width (maybe make it a 225mm long board). For those of us who are wanting to build balanced mono-blocks, we have to mount (2) output boards per side of the chassis. Unfortunately a 250mm wide board probably means having to use a pair of 300mm sinks on each side of the monoblock (that is one deep amp). Shaving a little bit off the length of the board would allow us to use 250mm sinks, which there are many to choose from. You could probably shave 10mm off the left side of the board alone, without having to even mess with the FET spacing.
Have them cut one in half , you end up with 15 inch depth you are going to need the depth .....
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 05:56 PM   #604
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel(Del) View Post
it's simple as that
Your problem is not the number of output pairs, for 75V rails you could get by with just 4 pairs.
With 75V rails, you'd be lucky to reach the 300W/8Ohm mark : 4 pairs is 1200W Pd, 300W is 25%.

Example : Perreaux PMF5550
100V rails, +500W, from twelve 125W power MOSFETs, makes 1500W Pd
MOSFETs no have second breakdown !

Whole philosophy of Papa is built around as simple as possible : minimal number of gain stages, through Class A operation.
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 05:57 PM   #605
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horio View Post
Andy,

On the V3 output board, is there a way we can shave a little bit off the width (maybe make it a 225mm long board). For those of us who are wanting to build balanced mono-blocks, we have to mount (2) output boards per side of the chassis. Unfortunately a 250mm wide board probably means having to use a pair of 300mm sinks on each side of the monoblock (that is one deep amp). Shaving a little bit off the length of the board would allow us to use 250mm sinks, which there are many to choose from. You could probably shave 10mm off the left side of the board alone, without having to even mess with the FET spacing.
I've got it down to 243mm.
Enough?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 06:00 PM   #606
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Your problem is not the number of output pairs, for 75V rails you could get by with just 4 pairs.
With 75V rails, you'd be lucky to reach the 300W/8Ohm mark : 4 pairs is 1200W Pd, 300W is 25%.

Example : Perreaux PMF5550
100V rails, +500W, from twelve 125W power MOSFETs, makes 1500W Pd
MOSFETs no have second breakdown !

Whole philosophy of Papa is built around as simple as possible : minimal number of gain stages, through Class A operation.
Jacco

Do you have any ideas of what may be suitable replacements for the 2SK170 and 2SJ74 devices?

Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 06:01 PM   #607
Horio is offline Horio  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Horio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
Have them cut one in half , you end up with 15 inch depth you are going to need the depth .....
I'm wanting to use (2) 250mm deep sinks per side, for a total depth of 20 inches. Should put me right around where I want to be for the configuration I'm looking at (4 output FETs per mono-block side with 32W/FET dissipation).
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 06:05 PM   #608
Horio is offline Horio  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Horio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
I've got it down to 243mm.
Enough?
You think you could get it down just a little bit more? Say down around 235mm? Just a bit more room would be good for the front/rear panel mounting brackets.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 06:05 PM   #609
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
Have them cut one in half , you end up with 15 inch depth you are going to need the depth .....
No need to cut anything in half.

The single output boards will allow a totally flexible layout.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 06:12 PM   #610
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Horio,

I got it down to 242mm.

Any more will require reduced MOSFET spacing
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 08:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 11:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 08:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2