F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 55 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd February 2012, 02:13 PM   #541
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Universall snap in capacitor
fit all sizes from 40 to 30 and different pins that I know off
if one is missing give me lay out and I will put pad there (takes a couple of minutes so no prob

+ leds so if you can see troug case ...

Look at lay out for type and dimentions if you look at screw therminall they all came in 13.5 mm pitch so much beter different board

And at 2 times the rated riple current for same price of snap in cunterpart is no contest

I have made this as there is a common + pad for all sizes board is phisicaly larger this way but works much beter
What one spend on board size is saved with reduced holes numbers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5 Turbo universal cap snap in.jpg (653.5 KB, 383 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 02:21 PM   #542
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
BK,

I see you 're at the top of the DIY matching transistor Unit GB list , great to have friends in high places ...

Hint , hint .........
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 02:47 PM   #543
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
BK,

I see you 're at the top of the DIY matching transistor Unit GB list , great to have friends in high places ...

Hint , hint .........
Sorry wayne what you on about. the curve tracer?

What friends no one likes me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:03 PM   #544
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Farting in public again, but a universal board would be one for just one row of cap cans, with mounting holes, and holes/pads for resistor leads.

Line 'm up, stack them on pcb poles, or place two side by side, solder the Panasonic or nuked MPC power resistors inbetween.
Or just use a hole of each board to connect a chassis-mount Caddock/Isabellenhütte/IRC-TT/Bourns/Sfernice, or Dale RH/NH in a desired package.

(isn't this the hangout for AH's no one likes ? )
__________________
The buck stops Here

Last edited by jacco vermeulen; 23rd February 2012 at 03:05 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:08 PM   #545
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
it is for F5 turbo. so no single rail will ever be used.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:18 PM   #546
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Nope, but it saves square inches of pcb, and offers endless variety options.

Back when, me built stacked CRC, with standing power resistors between 1st and 2nd storey/story electrolytics pcb.
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:28 PM   #547
lloop9 is offline lloop9  Singapore
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: 1 degree north of the equator.
I second Jacco's recommendation of stacking PSU pcbs, looks neat & save on casing size. We don't want no elephants sitting in our homes right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:29 PM   #548
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
oh. like that
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:36 PM   #549
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloop9 View Post
sitting in our homes
Define elephant.

In a Class A amp, single row PCB's have the added advantage that air can flow on both sides of an electrolytic, cooler.
(me also undress lytics, better cool-off, look sexy and sounds better, ask Guido Tent if you don't trust a psycho)
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2012, 03:41 PM   #550
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lisbon Portugal
since we're talking caps, I 've been trying to understand the reason for going with screw in instead of snap in capacitors. The srew tipe are larger, more expensive, and seem to need extra mounting hardware. I can understand that these have in general better ripple current and esr ratings, but what measurable/audible differences can one expect from using them in a class A amp such as the F5T, if same capacitance is used. Screw in caps are at least double the price of similar snap in units from what I've gathered.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 08:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 11:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 08:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2