Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:30 AM   #491
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
I was thinking.

In theory one could use the V3 Input and Output boards for an V2 as well, just by populating 2 Mosfets instead of 4....
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:48 AM   #492
Marra is offline Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
What a good idea.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:50 AM   #493
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lisbon Portugal
I sugested that a couple of pages ago, didn't seem to generate much interest at the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MASantos View Post
If we cut the traces in the middle of the board, then one half could be used for the p channel and the other the n channel right? If yes, then could we add jumpers in the middle of the board? Those who want the 4 pairs use two boards and jumper in the middle, but those who need need less power could use just one input board and one output board per channel with the n and p transistors.

Does this make any sense?
However I said that thinking the initial 1 board version would be abandoned. I do prefer the current v2 version of a single board per channel with all the necessary circuitry, it makes more sense if building a v2 stereo. I would keep that option, I would foresee quite some interest in that version.

Last edited by MASantos; 22nd February 2012 at 11:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:57 AM   #494
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
MASantos,

Yes, I wasn't thinking of dropping it. I just thought that some might choose the flexibility.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:06 PM   #495
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Indulge me, why is that so ?
Spoil sport ....... Now is it superior to a BA2...?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
How about a simple modification to the V5-Turbo V3 Output board that would allow it to have 2 N-ch and 2 P-ch MOSFETS? Cut the gate drive trace and the power trace in the middle of the board and add jumpers for the "normal" 4-of-the-same-kind use.
Too close to F5cv already available from DIY store ......
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:52 PM   #496
SRMcGee is offline SRMcGee  United States
diyAudio Member
 
SRMcGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Andy:

What's not to love about this opportunity? I'd like to update my interest in the V3 option to include 8 of the output boards, 4 of the first stage boards and 4 of the power supply boards (instead of the order previously submitted).

Many, many thanks,
Scott
__________________
Good decisions are derived from experience; experience is derived from bad decisions.

Last edited by SRMcGee; 22nd February 2012 at 12:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:01 PM   #497
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
I was thinking.

In theory one could use the V3 Input and Output boards for an V2 as well, just by populating 2 Mosfets instead of 4....
Then just add a second jumper for more outputs. 2 or 4 at a time, or like BA-Complimentary specs 3 at a time, and get's universal spacing. My vote is not for seperate N and P channel board.
__________________
Salas Boards 2014 #1 Boards shipping |F5TC board and power supplies available PM | DCB1 boards and kits available PM
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:04 PM   #498
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
All these options are very interesting. One could always build V3 with a point-to-point wired output stage. For those who don't want to there's output boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:07 PM   #499
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
MASantos,

Yes, I wasn't thinking of dropping it. I just thought that some might choose the flexibility.
You could just include two holes in each of the rails in the middle of the board, with some space in between. those building with 4 output transistors would do nothing, those building with only 2, would cut the traces. The holes would allow joining the board again if someone whishes to change their build.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:15 PM   #500
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Would just require solder pads, not holes.
__________________
BOXES for crying out loud
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 31 1st December 2013 09:08 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2