Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:30 PM   #491
UKToecutter is offline UKToecutter  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
I was thinking.

In theory one could use the V3 Input and Output boards for an V2 as well, just by populating 2 Mosfets instead of 4....
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:48 PM   #492
Marra is offline Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
What a good idea.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:50 PM   #493
MASantos is offline MASantos  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lisbon Portugal
I sugested that a couple of pages ago, didn't seem to generate much interest at the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MASantos View Post
If we cut the traces in the middle of the board, then one half could be used for the p channel and the other the n channel right? If yes, then could we add jumpers in the middle of the board? Those who want the 4 pairs use two boards and jumper in the middle, but those who need need less power could use just one input board and one output board per channel with the n and p transistors.

Does this make any sense?
However I said that thinking the initial 1 board version would be abandoned. I do prefer the current v2 version of a single board per channel with all the necessary circuitry, it makes more sense if building a v2 stereo. I would keep that option, I would foresee quite some interest in that version.

Last edited by MASantos; 22nd February 2012 at 12:53 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:57 PM   #494
UKToecutter is offline UKToecutter  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
MASantos,

Yes, I wasn't thinking of dropping it. I just thought that some might choose the flexibility.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:06 PM   #495
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Indulge me, why is that so ?
Spoil sport ....... Now is it superior to a BA2...?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
How about a simple modification to the V5-Turbo V3 Output board that would allow it to have 2 N-ch and 2 P-ch MOSFETS? Cut the gate drive trace and the power trace in the middle of the board and add jumpers for the "normal" 4-of-the-same-kind use.
Too close to F5cv already available from DIY store ......
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 01:52 PM   #496
SRMcGee is offline SRMcGee  United States
diyAudio Member
 
SRMcGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wynnewood, PA
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
Andy:

What's not to love about this opportunity? I'd like to update my interest in the V3 option to include 8 of the output boards, 4 of the first stage boards and 4 of the power supply boards (instead of the order previously submitted).

Many, many thanks,
Scott
__________________
Good decisions are derived from experience; experience is derived from bad decisions (unknown)
also, "Love + Time - Distance = Hate" (Louis C.K., 2017)

Last edited by SRMcGee; 22nd February 2012 at 01:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 02:01 PM   #497
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
I was thinking.

In theory one could use the V3 Input and Output boards for an V2 as well, just by populating 2 Mosfets instead of 4....
Then just add a second jumper for more outputs. 2 or 4 at a time, or like BA-Complimentary specs 3 at a time, and get's universal spacing. My vote is not for seperate N and P channel board.
__________________
Salas Boards GB 2017#1 SHIPPED | GB 2017 #2 Click Here to Sign Up! | Hot-Rod DCB1 boards and kits In Stock, PM | M2C Boards In Stock
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 02:04 PM   #498
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
All these options are very interesting. One could always build V3 with a point-to-point wired output stage. For those who don't want to there's output boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 02:07 PM   #499
MASantos is offline MASantos  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
MASantos,

Yes, I wasn't thinking of dropping it. I just thought that some might choose the flexibility.
You could just include two holes in each of the rails in the middle of the board, with some space in between. those building with 4 output transistors would do nothing, those building with only 2, would cut the traces. The holes would allow joining the board again if someone whishes to change their build.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 02:15 PM   #500
jacco vermeulen is offline jacco vermeulen  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Would just require solder pads, not holes.
__________________
Why does it hurt when I Pee ? (Ay Ay Ay https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5fLGWrHouk)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F5 Turbo Circuit BoardsHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 636 13th January 2016 12:05 PM
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 08:02 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 08:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2017 diyAudio
Wiki