F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 49 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd February 2012, 07:11 AM   #481
sangram is online now sangram  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: India
This went from simple to complex very quickly

Has no one considered two monoblocks with sinks on the front? That's 17" wide and doesn't need to be deep at all. Can route the input and output to either the rear, sides or (in my case) the top.

I am glad to see the V2 is still one board. That's the one I'll be interested in, if it's still around when the GB goes live.

My case is about 14" wide x 5" tall with the heatsinks mounted to the front of the case. The sinks themselves are 10"(h) x 7 (w)" so the front of the sink (where the fins are) rises 5" above the case top, I used one per channel in the original F5 and got a ~30 degree differential in Indian summer. Planning on two per channel with a copper heatspreader, stuck side by side to create a 14" wide case. I just need a little more gain and a little more power, so the V2 is spot on for my requirement. I/O terminals for each monoblock are on the case top.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 07:57 AM   #482
jernejc is offline jernejc  Slovenia
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: On The Sunny Side Of The Alps
Hey, Is there allerady some universal PSU PCB done which can be used for any of the F5? Need two of them to power up my dual monos.
Jernej
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:16 AM   #483
rdk845 is offline rdk845  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Wow, Over the weekend I was thinking that "there is no way that I could make V3 other than monoblock even for the starters, should I back out of the board GB?"
Then boom the thread exploded. I'm very happy to see what V3 boards has become. I gotta love this community!.

It really isn't much more complicated. Actually, I'm in more of camp prefering wiring individiual mosfet off from board so that builder can use whatever heat sink combination they want. For example, I'm currently considering using 4 of those semikron heatsinks per channel for each monoblock. But width of 2 semikron heatsink would be 250mm. So if the output board is 250mm long, it could be slightly too long.

As for those who are concerend about cost of monoblock, I think this V3 turbo version is going to provide a performance that couldn't be generally found in DIY audio community before. If properly built, it could legitimiately compete with multi 10K high power solid state amplifier driving multi 10K or even more expensive main stream speakers. I'm trying to build a 100W class A amp to drive my b&W matrix 800, but would eventually build it into 300W class A amp to drive full range electrostatic speakers. I would spend $1K more if neccessary, to build one properly with room for enhancement.

Thanks for the great work Toecutter.

Last edited by rdk845; 22nd February 2012 at 10:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:30 AM   #484
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdk845 View Post
I think this V3 turbo version is going to provide a performance that couldn't be found in DIY audio community before.
Indulge me, why is that so ?
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:32 AM   #485
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Toecutter -- What are the dimensions of the boards?
6L6

The board dimensions are as follows;

V3 Output Board 250mm x 50mm
V3 Input Stage 70mm x 70mm
V2 Combo Board 250mm x 50mm
PSU Board 163mm x 152mm
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:34 AM   #486
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
Andy ,

That's 4 boards /ch for a v3 .....?






Sweeeeet .............. V3 lives !!!!!
2 board + 1 input stage / Ch
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:36 AM   #487
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBL4435 View Post
Wonderful work Andy.
Not necessarily split N & P boards. I would just use 2 of your output boards in parallel.





V3 per channel: 2x Output board, 1x 1st Stage Board, 1 PS board. Preferably in one mono block

V3 stereo: 4x Output board, 2x 1st Stage Board, 2 PS board. Preferably in two mono blocks

V3X per channel: 4x Output board, 2x 1st Stage Board, 1 PS board. Preferably in one mono block

V3X stereo: 8x Output board, 4x 1st Stage Board, 2 PS board. Preferably in two mono blocks

Oh...
V2 stereo 2 x V2 Combination Boards and 1 x PS board. Stereo chassis is ok

For checking the layout and schematics there are better experts here.

Any news from Papa regarding his OK?
Yes indeed,

If you wanted to add additional boards for more output devices I guess you could.

Papa is OK as long as I don't use his name or FirstWatt on the boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:43 AM   #488
rdk845 is offline rdk845  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Indulge me, why is that so ?
O.K. I meant "generally" couldn't be found in diy audio community. Of course I'm sure many have built word class amplifiers for their own, but F5T would probablly easier and presumably will be much more popular than those inidividual build.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:08 AM   #489
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Default F5-Turbo v2.5 ?

Has anyone considered a 3-MOSFET per rail version of the F5-Turbo? It could probably me designed to the exactly the same FET spacing and board dimensions of the BA-CO v2.0 Burning Amp Complementary Output Board, or the F4 V2.0 board. This would allow its use on 10 wide heatsinks like the HeatsinkUSA E007.

Just a thought.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2012, 11:30 AM   #490
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
Andy ,

That's 4 boards /ch for a v3 .....?



Sweeeeet .............. V3 lives !!!!!

How about a simple modification to the V5-Turbo V3 Output board that would allow it to have 2 N-ch and 2 P-ch MOSFETS? Cut the gate drive trace and the power trace in the middle of the board and add jumpers for the "normal" 4-of-the-same-kind use.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 07:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2