F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 4 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th February 2012, 04:41 PM   #31
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006


It's amazing how much yours is similar to mine Bksabath.

Mine is still alfa, need to check it still but this layout can be expanded easily....
also working on a version with transistors on right and left....will post if there is interest.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg V2 PCB Alfa.jpg (170.2 KB, 1464 views)

Last edited by CeeVee; 12th February 2012 at 04:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 04:57 PM   #32
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post


It's amazing how much yours is similar to mine Bksabath.

Mine is still alfa, need to check it still but this layout can be expanded easily....
also working on a version with transistors on right and left....will post if there is interest.
I like yours the most now... it's simply neat and good!
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 05:14 PM   #33
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Would be interesting to see a rectangular board with outputs on both sides since about the best heatsink available in the states is from Heatsink USA and the deepest one they make is only 10 inches.

I did noticed the manual mentions mono blocks. Would it work well to have all the N channel devices on on side and the P channel devices on the other heatsink?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 05:21 PM   #34
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
since about the best heatsink available in the states is from Heatsink USA and the deepest one they make is only 10 inches.
If you use a single sink, yes, but if you are willing to make a frame to hold more than one together, you have infinite depth. FWIW, the hifi2000 cases, at 400mm or bigger are all multiple heatsinks.

Quote:
I did noticed the manual mentions mono blocks. Would it work well to have all the N channel devices on on side and the P channel devices on the other heatsink?
That's more of an issue with the layout of the PCB than anything else. It's one one the reasons Peter Daniel makes his PCB as small as possible, it actually gives you more choices with how things are mounted and gives more flexibility in what kind of sinks you use.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 06:50 PM   #35
diyAudio Member
 
Bksabath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post


It's amazing how much yours is similar to mine Bksabath.

Mine is still alfa, need to check it still but this layout can be expanded easily....
also working on a version with transistors on right and left....will post if there is interest.
I like it beter than mine.

Yes cascodes is what I have at the moment and that is going to be the way I am going to make it as well.

2 toughts

1) I may put a couple of resistors in series with P3 last time I tried that I fried the Jfets.

2) I already have MYF5 with most of the bits in place apart from the diodes I wonder how much different the F6 is going to be.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 07:15 PM   #36
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post


It's amazing how much yours is similar to mine Bksabath.

Mine is still alfa, need to check it still but this layout can be expanded easily....
also working on a version with transistors on right and left....will post if there is interest.
Ooh. That is a work of art. I am shamed!!!!
Back to the drawing board to do an imitation :-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2012, 07:17 PM   #37
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
It has always humored me how many people clone the FirstWatt designs using the long skinny boards. If you have ever seen the FirstWatt heatsinks in person, or a really good photo of them, you see why the boards are arranged like that.

But... with the heatsinks that are available to the DIY community, however, a smaller and more rectangular board is highly advantageous. You can still make a highly symmetrical board, but IMO smaller is actually better.
The one i posted is for the community....221 x 36 mm...but i do agree with you, I prefer the more rectangular ones for my heatsinks, that is why i'm working on the other version with the active power devices, 4 each side. 87 x 127...
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 10:09 AM   #38
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post


It's amazing how much yours is similar to mine Bksabath.

Mine is still alfa, need to check it still but this layout can be expanded easily....
also working on a version with transistors on right and left....will post if there is interest.
CeeVee,
Can you check your P3 connections.
I think they're going to the wrong side of the input FET's (i.e. should be S on the 170 and D on the 74).


Andy

Last edited by UKToecutter; 13th February 2012 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Grammer doh!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 10:37 AM   #39
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thanks Andy,

I've corrected that mistake...doing rest of board and will post later after full review.

It's source on both ! not Source and Drain...
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 10:42 AM   #40
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post
Thanks Andy,

I've corrected that mistake...doing rest of board and will post later after full review.

It's source on both ! not Source and Drain...
Of course (which is why I've just made a hasty modification to my schematic!!!)

:-)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 07:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2