F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 35 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2012, 02:44 PM   #341
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
So......

Where does this leave us in terms of PCB layout?

Are we back to the drawing board?
Nope....fantastic boards, but since this is a beast those wishing to stretch V3 to full class A will need other option like split input and power boards...like BA2/BA3....

Which is easy to do with this layout ...just clip the two ends of the board and voila....split input board.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:46 PM   #342
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post
..total agreement.

People entertaining the idea that a 250mm deep stereo V3 is possible...even with forced cooling it would be a task and then some.

V3 is a BEAST no doubt about it.
yes they are i'm using 250mm x 120mm x 73mm heatsinks for a JLH 10W (pr. ch.) and 500x150x73mm for F5 on steroids
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:49 PM   #343
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post


Nope....fantastic boards, but since this is a beast those wishing to stretch V3 to full class A will need other option like split input and power boards...like BA2/BA3....

Which is easy to do with this layout ...just clip the two ends of the board and voila....split input board.
even easyer to clip them at the drawing bord
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:50 PM   #344
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
yes they are i'm using 250mm x 120mm x 73mm heatsinks for a JLH 10W (pr. ch.) and 500x150x73mm for F5 on steroids
My F5 is pretty compact, like Firstwatt, 300cm deep /12cm high /8cm fins
runs at around 50ºC in Lisbon Summer.

Standard power rails !

  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:52 PM   #345
CeeVee is offline CeeVee  Portugal
diyAudio Member
 
CeeVee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
even easyer to clip them at the drawing bord

...well yeah that is what i meant.
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:53 PM   #346
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
250mm x 120mm x 73mm heatsinks for a JLH 10W (pr. ch.)
Me have Aleph-J monaurals with 400mm heatsinks on the left and right side.
Eeh, but just a hair over 2.5" high !
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:56 PM   #347
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post
My F5 is pretty compact, like Firstwatt, 300cm deep /12cm high /8cm fins
runs at around 50ºC in Lisbon Summer.

Standard power rails !

my F5 will run å liiiitle higher bias almost dobble it's dual outputs
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:57 PM   #348
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Me have Aleph-J monaurals with 400mm heatsinks on the left and right side.
Eeh, but just a hair over 2.5" high !
hehe sounds like modu's dissepante 2U 400mm
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:58 PM   #349
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeVee View Post
...well yeah that is what i meant.
aha
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2012, 02:59 PM   #350
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKToecutter View Post
Where does this leave us in terms of PCB layout?

Are we back to the drawing board?
Would a "Driver board" and a pair of "Output boards" make things more flexible? And easier to accommodate monoblocks and stereo chassis? No doubt. But it also adds a bunch of cost...

What about having a board with seams and the ability to break away the outputs? Like the BrianGT Aleph board. This is more complicated than I thought at first glance because the thermistor circuit need to travel with the outputs, but I think it could be accommodated into your board with a minimum of fuss.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 07:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2