F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 204 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th April 2013, 02:57 AM   #2031
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
This weekend.

If i were to build them, monoblocks would be only consideration. I would probably go balanced over SE as you get voltage on the cheap and can get away with higher bias as a side benefit. 22V rails should get you 100W into 8 ohms all day long with only 20W dissipation per fet.

My v3 will be with Tea's boards and will be biased as high as I can get them. I will show single channel of store boards and full stereo of Tea's
Cant use balance low -z is 1 ohm plus all my kabizillion pieces of equipment , none are balanced ...
__________________
World Cup Cat Hacky Sack given to Brazil and with 30seconds to go D Germans and the rest of Europe save face ..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 03:03 AM   #2032
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I remember you telling me this. Have you considered more outputs and less bias or even ba/f5FE driving BA PP output? For V3 into 1R load, your gonna need 9-10A totdl bias. I would bet on 6 output pairs unless changing output Rs.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 03:19 AM   #2033
dazed2 is offline dazed2  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
The layout of the amp is winding up to be a fairly critical point of this build - the seperate front-end board (the driver circuitry, so to speak) is on it's own PCB and has many connections that all need to be wired in a way that isn't conducive to making the amp unstable - and as this is such a wide-band hotrod amp, it needs attention paid to make it work.

The FE board being it's own piece makes it possible to make a V1, V2 or V3 all with the same physical board set. Cool!
Well that was what I was getting at, what special considerations should one be looking at when laying it out? I'm making one with 4 pr and originally layed out with Tea's board. so that means I have wires going all over the place in a monoblock!
With the DIYaudio release still lots of wires, but connected to another PCB instead of the Mosfets.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 03:57 AM   #2034
Variac is offline Variac  United States
diyAudio Editor
 
Variac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Francisco, USA
Eager for a diagram on how to do the balanced!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 05:10 PM   #2035
Mr. dB is online now Mr. dB  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Mr. dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Variac View Post
Eager for a diagram on how to do the balanced!
BA3B might give some hints...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 05:28 PM   #2036
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
f5X build thread might be better source. Check out the build thread. Euvl walks through teh initial biasing of amp in balanced mode.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 06:39 PM   #2037
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
or the F5turbo article.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 07:25 PM   #2038
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
I remember you telling me this. Have you considered more outputs and less bias or even ba/f5FE driving BA PP output? For V3 into 1R load, your gonna need 9-10A totdl bias. I would bet on 6 output pairs unless changing output Rs.
5 pr should work, 30 volt trans.............
__________________
World Cup Cat Hacky Sack given to Brazil and with 30seconds to go D Germans and the rest of Europe save face ..
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2013, 12:17 AM   #2039
dazed2 is offline dazed2  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Oh also noticed the set allow for 2 pr / channel is this correct?
How do we order more of the break out boards for a full 4 pr / channel?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2013, 12:33 AM   #2040
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
4pr/channel will take 2 sets of boards. Esentally you will use all the output boards per channel.

You will wind up with a couple extra FE boards that way, which with a little planning and modification you can probably make a BA-3 gain stage for a preamp project or something.

  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 07:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 07:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:56 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2