F5 Turbo Circuit Boards - Page 13 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th February 2012, 02:44 AM   #121
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member
 
bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York State USA
Geez, my reading comprehension is down the tubes... heh.
You said not. Yikes.

nvm.

High slope transients are HF... that is the same as a high amplitude leading edge on a cannon, which has a LF component... annoying to think about. So just how much air should a tweeter move to result in a "realistic" reproduction? Heh.

_-_-bear
__________________
_-_-bear
http://www.bearlabs.com -- Btw, I don't actually know anything, FYI -- [...2SJ74 Toshiba bogus asian parts - beware! ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 12:54 PM   #122
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Back home from working away.
I have done some more work on the layout and made it a bit more tidy.

Reading back through some posts during the last few days somebody was talking about possible alternatives for the MUR3020's in TO-220 packs.

Can I get confirmation if this is required and that the alternatives will be suitable for the F5. I should be able to provide for some alternate pads if needed.

Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 01:24 PM   #123
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Example : STTH2002C (in standard TO-220 dress)
On fire sale for 42 $cents each at DK
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 01:42 PM   #124
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacco vermeulen View Post
Example : STTH2002C (in standard TO-220 dress)
On fire sale for 42 $cents each at DK
Looks reasonable but quite a bit slower than the MUR3020's.

Is that going to be an issue?

Last edited by UKToecutter; 17th February 2012 at 01:42 PM. Reason: spelling
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 02:25 PM   #125
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
Would you like the diodes to switch, or slide ?

Me regard the diodes as a torque converter in an automatic transmission, smooth gear change.

(slower ? really ?)
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 04:12 PM   #126
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Revised F5 v2/3 layout and PSU layout.
Very difficult to add TO-220 diode arrays without reducing track widths dramatically.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 04:42 PM   #127
Horio is offline Horio  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Horio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Looking great UKToecutter.

Maybe you were planning to do it at the end, but I don't see any mounting holes. I know the amp boards could probably be supported by the FET/Diode legs, but I'm a big fan of standoffs too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 05:12 PM   #128
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harrow, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horio View Post
Looking great UKToecutter.

Maybe you were planning to do it at the end, but I don't see any mounting holes. I know the amp boards could probably be supported by the FET/Diode legs, but I'm a big fan of standoffs too.
I was thinking that the amplifier boards would be supported by the FET's being bolted to the heatsinks (I could put some mounting holes if people would like them).
I was planning to put mounting holes on the PSU.

In fact, I'll put them on now.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 05:20 PM   #129
lhquam is offline lhquam  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olalla, Oregon: Land of the 100 Valleys
UKToecutter:

I really like your layout.

I do not understand many of the test-points. In particular why aren't there test-points for the measuring the bias current, ie. the voltage across the the source resistors? TP10 and TP5 appear to be connecteded to the same trace. Same with TP3 and TP9. What are TP1 and TP2? How are TP11 and TP8 used?

I do not understand why the (wide) traces from the diodes to the MOSFET source pins (and MOSFET side of the source resistors) need to be only on one side of the board. It might be better if the connection from the source-resistors to the MOSFET source pin was on both sides.

I am looking forward to using this board.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2012, 05:29 PM   #130
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Input transistors including cascodes are very close to high output currents.
Might be an issue?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 clone boards (inc PSU boards) Tazzz Swap Meet 39 7th June 2014 08:02 AM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 11:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM
UGS Boards and F5 boards DUC985 Swap Meet 0 7th January 2009 08:21 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:46 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2