Restoring a Threshold FET 10e - a few questions

Joined 2002
Paid Member
Perhaps an 'L' shaped hex wrench would be better?
Yes - you want something like this. It will give you the leverage you need to loosen the screws.
---Gary

Attachments

• allen wrench.jpg
    allen wrench.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 575
Hoping the participants in this thread are still around...

I am a long-term FET 10/e owner about to take delivery of a FET 10/e phono ("cartridge gain") stage with balanced and unbalanced outputs. I figure it's time to bring both units up to date. While I have plenty of experience at electronics repair and maintenance, I don't have the knowledge of how to extrapolate from this thread as to how specifically to update the components in these units.

Is anyone here at all interested in helping me offline? Maybe a pointer to the locations and values of capacitors to be changed?

I'm also interested in replacing the PSU's; it seems to me it must be possible to find off-the-shelf units with enough capacity and filtering to replace the stock units as opposed to trying to source new transformers and fit them into the chassis. Does this seem like a possibility? Do the two units use the same PSU's?

Many thanks in advance for any assistance. PM's are fine.

Joined 2002
Paid Member
I've posted most of what you need to know already.
Replace all the electrolytic caps and the tantalum caps. Upgrade the power supply with a really big transformer, good diodes, and a lot of capacitance. The phono power supply is the same as the preamp power supply, so you should build 2. If you want to go further on the line stage, considering upgrading the volume pot and playing with the feedback resistors.

As Zen mod suggested, post your questions here and you'll get lots of support. That way, everyone can learn with you.
---Gary

Thanks guys. I hope you understand how much I will be asking here.
Let's start with the PSU since it will be quite a while before the phono pre rolls in.