An illustrated guide to building an F5

another solution is a F5 mini. running on +/-15V and 0.8A bias. with a J-fet boz preamp.
that will give you alot of good sound for a smal amount of power.

Sorry to jump in on this thread.

Terrific reading by the way with great build photos -- thanks! -- and it's really given me the urge to try an F5 build as my next project. I built some Mini A's a few years ago (they're in storage right now) but havent been here in ages and havent done any DIYing either.

The F5 looks like a great build and I spotted AudioSan's post on using a transformer with 15v secondaries -- which I can take from my Mini A's. I would love this as it would save quite a bit of money. But I'm really a beginner, so have to ask if there would be big changes in the circuit using a 15v toroid instead of an 18v ???? Also, what would the approximate output power be? My Mini A's were around 10w into 8ohms IIRC and I never felt I lacked power!

Thanks for any advice!

Hi all,

Me again with still more problems :(
It took a while but I finally received new fjets (Q1 & 2) and installed them.(thank you Spencer)
At first turning P1 & 2 Igot no response. I turned off the amp and then turned on again and R12 started smoking...
Please help- what's next? Changing Q4?

Hi all,

Me again with still more problems :(
It took a while but I finally received new fjets (Q1 & 2) and installed them.(thank you Spencer)
At first turning P1 & 2 Igot no response. I turned off the amp and then turned on again and R12 started smoking...
Please help- what's next? Changing Q4?

Review the back of the pcb, burned the R12 is likely to have burnt some clue circuit...

Attachments

• F5_ajh65.JPG
    F5_ajh65.JPG
    169.2 KB · Views: 589
  • F5_ajh67.JPG
    F5_ajh67.JPG
    183.7 KB · Views: 593
  • F5_ajh38.JPG
    F5_ajh38.JPG
    123.8 KB · Views: 567