Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th May 2011, 04:03 AM   #71
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody1911a1 View Post
ok what happened to your original build thread 6L6 ? invalid thread ? geez
According to the mod to whom I spoke with, there was a software malfunction, which (for an unknown reason) cloned the thread, and they (the mods) couldn't delete one without modifying the other... So they locked it up and reported the problem to one of the admins, who has probably forgot about it or has in buried in a to-do list.

Hopefully it will get fixed.
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 01:23 PM   #72
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
It's kind of hard to get to P1 & P2 once the mosfets and board have been mounted (to reset the pots to 0 ohms).

Isn't setting R11 and/or R12 to 0v DC a good alternative?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 01:27 PM   #73
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin2069er View Post
It's kind of hard to get to P1 & P2 once the mosfets and board have been mounted (to reset the pots to 0 ohms).

Isn't setting R11 and/or R12 to 0v DC a good alternative?
Only if you want to create smoke.

You need to adjust P1 and P2 down to zero ohms before firing it up!
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 01:34 PM   #74
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
Ok, I'll dismount the whole board and mosfets.


There are no test point on the front of the board to check the values of the pots?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 01:44 PM   #75
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Turn the trimpots fully counter clockwise until they click. They should be at 0.

Unless you can't put a screwdriver on the pots while installed, there is no reason to dismount the board.

If you do need to take out the board to measure/verify the pot's position, take a pen or thin sharpie and mark the direction you need to turn the pot to make it go down.
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 02:21 PM   #76
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
I understood it as if the pots could not be reached. If that is the case, I would suggest to make them reachable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 02:44 PM   #77
diyAudio Member
 
merlin2069er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to merlin2069er
I can reach the pots and turn them no problem. I'll just have to keep turning them counter clock-wise until I hear a click.

Do they keep click when they reach the limit of the pot?
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 02:59 PM   #78
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Yes, the pots will click click click at the bottom or top of their range, as the adjustment doohickey clutches.

Plug in your light bulb tester in and fire it up. If the bulb glows for just a teeny bit (as the caps charge) and then get dim, you most likely have the pot adjusted down to zero.

Remove the light bulb tester and turn it on. Hook up your meters and start the bias procedure.
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 03:29 PM   #79
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
hey, 6L6

happy to say your other thread is OK again

How to build the F5
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2011, 05:02 PM   #80
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
I'm new to this forum and have to say that I am completely fascinated.

I'm seriously considering taking the plunge on building the F5 and have a couple questions:

1. I remember reading Nelson has a large stock of cases for First Watt. Is he willing to sell the cases to DIYers on a one off basis?

2. Has anyone done a F5 in a multi-channel system? I.e. 5 channels of F5 amplification in one case with one power supply? This would definitely interest me.

Thanks in advance for your help! -Gordon.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Amps - Building a Quartet of Amps in search of the Ultimate F5 NYCOne Pass Labs 123 29th September 2011 12:04 AM
Idiotīs guide to building Pass amps? judge Pass Labs 3 19th December 2004 11:33 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Đ1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2