Grounding My F5 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th March 2011, 01:23 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Default Grounding My F5

I'm in the middle of building my F5 and my thoughts are turning to grounding. For my stereo F5 I've built a separate power supply for each channel. This means that each channel has its own toroid, rectifiers, and capacitors. Can I ground each power supply to its own CL60 on the chassis or am I best to stick with the well known start grounding principle and bring both power supplies to a common CL60? The reason I'm asking is separate CL60's would probably lead to a neater layout.

Regards,
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 01:30 PM   #2
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The point of the CL-60 at chassis earth is to break ground loops.

Star ground the 2 PSU boards to one CL-60.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 02:16 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
vdi_nenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: PA, USA
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
I built an F5 with CL-60s for each power supply. It's very quite.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5build3.JPG (96.6 KB, 348 views)
File Type: jpg F5Testing1.JPG (94.5 KB, 340 views)
__________________
I build, therefore I am.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 05:34 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdi_nenna View Post
I built an F5 with CL-60s for each power supply. It's very quite.
I see the 4 (2 each) CL-60 with the transformer connections, but
What about the CL-60 that goes to ground, did you use one for each side, or just one for both grounds? If you used two, (One for each power supply) did they both go to the same ground point, or did each have their own ground point?

Russellc
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 05:44 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
vdi_nenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: PA, USA
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
I used two, one CL-60 for each power supply (PS) ground. My logic was that if they shared a single CL-60, both PS circuits would be connected to ground before the CL-60.

You are correct. The pics shows thermistors before the transformers. There are 6 CL-60 total in that F5.

Vince
__________________
I build, therefore I am.

Last edited by vdi_nenna; 15th March 2011 at 05:47 PM. Reason: grammar
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 11:06 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by vdi_nenna View Post
I used two, one CL-60 for each power supply (PS) ground. My logic was that if they shared a single CL-60, both PS circuits would be connected to ground before the CL-60.

You are correct. The pics shows thermistors before the transformers. There are 6 CL-60 total in that F5.

Vince
Are the two separate Cl-60s grounded to the same place on the chassis or do you have two separate places? Just wondering, I have exactly the same setup and am getting ready to install my power cord connectors and the grounding CL'-60s and was wondering how they should be installed.

Thanks for the help here, much appreciated.

Russellc
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2011, 11:13 PM   #7
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
safety gnd ( routed from mains connector ) , and all NTC's ( usually one or two ) connecting audio ground(s) and safety gnd , must be bolted/connected to one point of case
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 12:56 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
To illustrate my question. I have two complete power supplies. One for each channel in the same chassis. Do I use one TH1 for both supplies or do I use one TH1 for each supply and connect them to the same point?

Click the image to open in full size.

Regards,
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 01:09 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
vdi_nenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: PA, USA
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
Both cl-60s to one point, bolted to the bare chassis, like ZM said.
__________________
I build, therefore I am.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 03:00 AM   #10
eyoung is offline eyoung  United States
diyAudio Member
 
eyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sunny SC,USA 15 min south of Charlotte NC
Look at F1 P/S has 2 CL60 to ground on the +/- 24v both channels to Ground...

Regards, El
__________________
"Lead me not into temptation...I can find it myself."
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Amps - Building a Quartet of Amps in search of the Ultimate F5 NYCOne Pass Labs 123 29th September 2011 12:04 AM
F5 Cascoded - an alternative for my interest in the Balanced F5 NYCOne Pass Labs 159 24th March 2011 05:23 AM
I need Help with my F5.... rtate Pass Labs 15 1st December 2009 11:07 PM
Lions and Tigers and Grounding Problems, Oh My! DoZ Grounding... EchoWars Solid State 37 3rd August 2008 08:50 AM
LM3875 kit grounding, optimal grounding for separate amps and psu? findog Chip Amps 9 16th May 2005 09:27 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:25 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2