F5 Bias Problem - Page 3 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th March 2011, 04:01 PM   #21
ENSen is offline ENSen  Sweden
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
The voltages over R1 and R2 are 52mV and 49mV -> Ids for the jfets are ~5mA.

5mA through 1.2kohm should give a Vgs~5.5V and not 750mV as I have. So the current must go another way. The only way I can see is the bipolar transistors. I will try to desolder them and see what happens.

Sorry maartentje for hijacking your thread but since the title is "F5 bias problem" I thought it was a good thread for my problem as well. If the correct way would be to start a new thread please let me know and I will to that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 04:49 PM   #22
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Probably so.

  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 08:45 PM   #23
ENSen is offline ENSen  Sweden
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Problem solved. I had mounted the bjts the wrong way. I checked it three times and still managed to install them the wrong.

Thank you very much Melon head and Mr. Pass for taking time helping me with this.

Hopefully I can hook them up to my speakers tomorrow and enjoy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2011, 10:11 PM   #24
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
It is good to see another problem solved.
Enjoy your amp
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2011, 10:46 PM   #25
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I think I am having a similar problem -

With 0 offset, I can get only .1-.15v bias

With the bias at .6v, the offset is .3v

I also am running out of turns on the potentiometer...

Change the R parallel to the pots? (3.3k? more? less?) Or does this seem to be something else?
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2011, 11:17 PM   #26
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
change them to double in value

repeat biasing procedure from start
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2011, 11:24 PM   #27
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Marblehead Ma
thanx zen mod
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2011, 06:07 AM   #28
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia.
Smile R11 voltage run away

ok, my problem with biasing my F5 is that after adjusting p1 and p2 alternativley ( both pots set to zero ohms to start with ) the voltage over R11 climbs up to and is stable around 250mv.Above this voltage the voltage across R11 starts climbing by itself.

I just watch it climb to 0.6 volts then pull the plug...have had a couple of burn ups when i didnt get to cut off the juice quick enuff
I have replaced Q1 Q2 Q5 and Q6. I removed Q4 (IRFP240) and Q3(IRFP9240) and tested as best i could and I THINK they are ok.Still the problem persists.

Any help warmly recieved
__________________
" I love cats....but I couldn't eat a full one. "
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2011, 02:43 PM   #29
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melon Head View Post
Just one more possibility. What is the Idss value of the Jfets you used?
I've wondered about that as well. Seems like no one had this problem with earlier builds, now some must increase or decrease the value of the resistor over the pots to get enough adjustment. The only variable that occurrs to me is the Idss values of the J-fets. I have sets from high 6's to mid 10's and have wondered which I should use in my current build, as I have already put the caddock standard value on the board. Since I have a range of J-fets to use, is there a certain value that would indicate which value of resistor is required for which J-fet Idss, or is this nothing to do with it?

Russellc
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2011, 04:52 PM   #30
mk57 is offline mk57  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I finally gotmy F5 up and running with .60 bias and low offset I have one side working normal and one side with about 1/3 of the gain of the other. I have checked most everything bue can't seem to see anything. Ideas??
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 bias question richD Pass Labs 12 4th March 2013 12:57 PM
your opinion of this bias problem speakerfritz Tubes / Valves 6 18th December 2010 06:55 PM
Bias problem- 1 Socket shows extremely low bias! otokomae Tubes / Valves 12 31st December 2008 10:01 PM
N-Channel no bias problem B.I.G Solid State 2 18th October 2004 05:59 PM
EL84 BIAS problem - again.... Buhl Tubes / Valves 4 28th November 2002 10:31 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2