How to build the F5 - Page 101 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2012, 01:43 PM   #1001
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
I agree.

The single PCB is going to be cheaper than 2 boards, obviously.

However, the discrete diodes and heatsinks for the chipamp.com board are much more expensive than a pair of diode blocks. (The heatsinks are $$)

You could use a single block with the chipamp.com board if you wanted to, and just jumper the pads where the on-board diodes mount.
I eliminated that expense via the daniels diode boards, which allow bolting directly to the amps's floor!

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 01:44 PM   #1002
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
andrew. its a F5. not a chipamp
only the PSU boards is from chipamp. the aleph PSU boards

Last edited by AudioSan; 13th August 2012 at 01:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 01:50 PM   #1003
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russellc View Post
I eliminated that expense via the daniels diode boards, which allow bolting directly to the amps's floor!

Russellc
you can also just hardwire the diodes to the PSU board and use the bottom has heatsink(mounting them under the board) . but then you are again stuck on single rectifier(chipamp's boards). there is lots of ways to do it
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 05:18 PM   #1004
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Remember that Tehtoril has already purchased the Chipamp.com PSU boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 05:23 PM   #1005
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
you can also just hardwire the diodes to the PSU board and use the bottom has heatsink(mounting them under the board) . but then you are again stuck on single rectifier(chipamp's boards). there is lots of ways to do it
Again, if single rectifiers are used, I would just do it like 6L6 did with the heatsinks, rather than twist it so that the very hot diodes were under the board....oh well, to each their own. I went the full dual mono route, built it for a fraction of the retail unit...nice thing about DIY, you can spend a couple extra bucks and gain a lot, even though it might be cost prohibitive to do it in a business where many unit are produced.

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 05:36 PM   #1006
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
russ. i also went for external rectifiers. in form of bridges. dual bridge pr rail, on chipamps PSU board.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 05:39 PM   #1007
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Remember that Tehtoril has already purchased the Chipamp.com PSU boards.
yes. thats the reason i allways referd to those boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 06:18 PM   #1008
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Szczecin
Thanks for keeping that in mind, guys
So You say, that I should buy 4 bridges?
Wich one would be the best for that job?
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 07:24 PM   #1009
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
I must be having some "elderly moments".
Of course I'm in an F5 thread. Tell me that again, I'm in an F5 Thread !
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2012, 08:26 PM   #1010
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
I must be having some "elderly moments".
Of course I'm in an F5 thread. Tell me that again, I'm in an F5 Thread !
you was refering to chipamp amps. so i started wondering
well. you are in a F5 tread
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another F5 build--beautiful music, different drummer CanAm Man Pass Labs 144 7th March 2013 09:41 PM
Transistors and Resistors for F5 Amp Build NYCOne Swap Meet 0 20th December 2010 04:29 AM
Next suggested build after F5 anilva Pass Labs 36 3rd December 2010 04:11 AM
F5 Build Instructions 1108 Pass Labs 4 12th May 2009 10:58 PM
Planning an F5 build - some beginner questions njepitt Pass Labs 144 15th March 2009 11:55 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:08 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2