B1 preamp build thread - Page 4 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th October 2012, 10:17 PM   #31
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRKO View Post
Do I wire all the inputs to the switch and use only one of the B1 boards inputs to receive the 6 switched inputs?
Yes.

Quote:
Also is it possible to have get 2 outputs from the B1 by wiring to both the boards inputs?
I think you mean wiring to the outputs. Just run the output from the B1 pcb to 2 output jacks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 10:18 PM   #32
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by José Humberto View Post
Is this the PSU? I can´t open the file.
Have it enough filtering?
Yes, that PSU will be fine before the B1 PCB. There is enough filtering on the B1 PCB to use an unregulated supply, so a regulated one like the link you show will be much quieter!
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 10:32 PM   #33
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Yes.

I think you mean wiring to the outputs. Just run the output from the B1 pcb to 2 output jacks.
I think you should maybe also have double output series cap/resistor
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 10:39 PM   #34
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
That seems like a good suggestion.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2012, 07:47 AM   #35
diyAudio Member
 
JRKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: U.K.
Send a message via AIM to JRKO
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
I think you mean wiring to the outputs. Just run the output from the B1 pcb to 2 output jacks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinitus View Post
I think you should maybe also have double output series cap/resistor
Tnx 6L6. So I wire 2x pair of phono sockets for the output. Does it matter if I do that series or parallel?

Hi tinitus - does that mean double up some of the parts from the B1 circuit or a little set on the output jack terminals?

I was thinking I could run 2x pair of wires from the input selector and run both sections of the B1 at the same time giving me 2x identical outputs. I think I'd need to do something fancy with the volume wiring thou. Was that dumb?
__________________
In the interests of full disclosure JRKO = James Rupert Kingsley Osborne. And yes, my parents will pay for it when I choose their retirement home
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2012, 08:56 PM   #36
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I think he means to have a C x01, R x04 and R x05 on each output jack.

(Just to clarify, "C x01" means either C 101 or C201, the first digit is just the separator for the L or R channel)
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2012, 11:51 PM   #37
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
6L6, what a great job on build and info, both. Is it possible for you shed any light at all on the chassis you used? I remember you said it came to you thru a friend. It really appeals to me, and I'd like to be a copycat!

Best -

Jeff
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2012, 01:21 AM   #38
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I believe it was from a long-gone place called 'diy hifi enclosures' or something like that...

I'm sure there is something similar available, but the exact one? Probably not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2012, 05:42 AM   #39
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas City
Hi,

Would it make too much of a difference if i used the following capacitor for C101 and C 201 instead of the 10uF as mentioned in the B1 buffer article.

AXON-73703 11uF / 250VDC, True Cap,* 22mmD x* 38mmL

Thanks

Nikhil
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2012, 06:29 PM   #40
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Sorry that there wasn't a more timely reply...

Those caps will be fine.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 12:57 PM
Help diagnosing B1 Build (newbie) dasfreak Pass Labs 4 30th November 2010 01:56 AM
help with b1 + gainclone build crappyjones123 Pass Labs 4 25th June 2009 09:56 PM
B1 Preamp - Help Me! Professor smith Pass Labs 173 21st October 2008 03:55 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2