Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

B1 preamp build thread
B1 preamp build thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2017, 02:04 PM   #341
OlegSh is offline OlegSh
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
B1 preamp build thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanhgm View Post
Does anyone know where to get an extending rod for the alps poti? Or is the local hardware store the best place to look?
I just bought 6mm diameter brass rod on 'bay. To join it with the pot shaft look for the flexible shaft couplers (for 6mm diameter shafts).

Regards,
Oleg
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2017, 12:40 AM   #342
thegoldenear is online now thegoldenear  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
thegoldenear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanhgm View Post
Hey everyone,

can I use the Vout of my DCB1 Board to power the I-Select board? If so, is there still need to put the caps C1/C2 and IC1 and the Diodes on the I-Select board?

Does anyone know where to get an extending rod for the alps poti? Or is the local hardware store the best place to look?

Thanks

Extension Shaft for Volume Control Potentiometer 300B | eBay
__________________
tweaker.......
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2017, 06:33 PM   #343
stefanhgm is offline stefanhgm
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Thank you very much. What about my second question, is it possible to power the I-Select board via Vout of the DCB1?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 07:25 PM   #344
folkdeath95 is offline folkdeath95  France
diyAudio Member
 
folkdeath95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brittany, France
I have a doubt concerning the wiring of the pot.
My Khozmo attenuator has the following marking: IN-OUT-GND.

I think to solder:
IN to CW
OUT to W
GND to CCW

Is it right?
__________________
Petite Onken/Altec 414-8B+Altec 808-8B/GPA aluminium diaphragm/Altec 811; Firstwatt Aleph J Clone; Firstwatt B1 clone; Technics SP10; Sphinx Myth9 MkII
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2018, 08:05 PM   #345
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
B1 preamp build thread
it seems ok
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2018, 08:36 AM   #346
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by folkdeath95 View Post
I have a doubt concerning the wiring of the pot.
My Khozmo attenuator has the following marking: IN-OUT-GND.

I think to solder:
IN to CW
OUT to W
GND to CCW

Is it right?
Please remember that the input is a TWO (2) wire connection. Input connects to CW and to CCW
The output is also a TWO wire connection. Output comes from W and CCW.

Do not break any of those 4 wires. All are needed to pass the signal from the source to the receiver.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2018, 02:58 PM   #347
folkdeath95 is offline folkdeath95  France
diyAudio Member
 
folkdeath95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brittany, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
it seems ok
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
Please remember that the input is a TWO (2) wire connection. Input connects to CW and to CCW
The output is also a TWO wire connection. Output comes from W and CCW.

Do not break any of those 4 wires. All are needed to pass the signal from the source to the receiver.
But those connections are made on the PCB, no?

I just wanted to find the relation betwwen what is written on the PCB (C-CC-CCW) and what is written on my attenuator (IN-OUT-GND) to connect it like on the picture below:
Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Petite Onken/Altec 414-8B+Altec 808-8B/GPA aluminium diaphragm/Altec 811; Firstwatt Aleph J Clone; Firstwatt B1 clone; Technics SP10; Sphinx Myth9 MkII
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 01:25 PM   #348
folkdeath95 is offline folkdeath95  France
diyAudio Member
 
folkdeath95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brittany, France
I finished my B1 yesterday and began to test it this afternoon.

The problem is I've got a very weak and distorted sound on the right channel.
Do you have any ideas (things to check, measures to make) to solve this?

Thanks.
__________________
Petite Onken/Altec 414-8B+Altec 808-8B/GPA aluminium diaphragm/Altec 811; Firstwatt Aleph J Clone; Firstwatt B1 clone; Technics SP10; Sphinx Myth9 MkII
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 01:59 PM   #349
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
B1 preamp build thread
how , without any detail ?

which iteration , no pictures .......
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2018, 02:21 PM   #350
folkdeath95 is offline folkdeath95  France
diyAudio Member
 
folkdeath95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brittany, France
Sorry.

It's made using the PassDIY boards. Here are some pictures:
carte1.JPG
carte2.JPG
fini.JPG

The problem I have is that the sound is weak and distorted on the right channel.

Test I've made:
-using an other input: same problem
-inverting left and right channel at the input: problem stays on the right channel
-inverting left and right channel at the output: problem goes on the left channel
-inverting left and right channel on the attenuator: problem stays on the right channel

So I think there's something wrong after the attenuator. I don't know if there's some voltage to check what's wrong (when working on my Pearl 2, I found a schematic with some voltages but I can't find such a thing for the B1).
__________________
Petite Onken/Altec 414-8B+Altec 808-8B/GPA aluminium diaphragm/Altec 811; Firstwatt Aleph J Clone; Firstwatt B1 clone; Technics SP10; Sphinx Myth9 MkII

Last edited by folkdeath95; 13th January 2018 at 02:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


B1 preamp build threadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 722 16th November 2016 08:26 AM
Help diagnosing B1 Build (newbie) dasfreak Pass Labs 4 30th November 2010 02:56 AM
help with b1 + gainclone build crappyjones123 Pass Labs 4 25th June 2009 10:56 PM
B1 Preamp - Help Me! Professor smith Pass Labs 173 21st October 2008 04:55 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki