Pearl (one) Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As a matter of fact I've been listening to it for several months.
Pearl_foto3.jpg
Pearl_foto4.jpg
Pearl_foto5.jpg

PKI

Joined 2011
Paid Member
Sorry for interrupting. Folks, correct me if I'm wrong: Pearl one is a MM preamp and Pearl two is a MC preamp, right?
Is it possible to make a phono two and just bypass the additional gain stage and use it for a MM cartridge as well?

It doesn't matter a lot. Pearl II has more gain and that's why more suitable for MC cartriges which have generaly weaker signal than MM cartriges. There is no harm in using Pearl II for MM. The only difference is in cartrige load. MM and MC differs in that respect substantialy. Additionally in case of MC choosing proper load is very important.
Just find Pass Laboratories Xono Owner's Manual PDF page 3-4. Look at the colour photo on page 4 and you will see.

Last edited:

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Pearl one is a MM preamp and Pearl two is a MC preamp, right?
Is it possible to make a phono two and just bypass the additional gain stage and use it for a MM cartridge as well?

There isn't that much difference between the two -- The Pearl 2 does have more gain, but not like an additional gain stage ("pre-preamp") that some designs have. So it's not bypassable. (Is that a word?)

Anyway, the Pearl 2 has fantastic overload capability, and a very large range of input signal -- it can take the bulk of modern MM carts out there. As the previous poster mentioned, just load it properly and you are good.

It's a great sounding phono stage. You will not be disappointed. :) :) :)

Dzius - Great article! Thank you for the link.

Last edited:

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Actually I wouldn't (and, for that matter didn't...) make the loading on a separate board or switch arrangement. But, I don't tend to change cartridges all that often. If you do, it might be a good idea.