F5....and Martin Logan Sequel Panels? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th December 2010, 12:56 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Default F5....and Martin Logan Sequel Panels?

All,

My F5 construction is progressing well--thanks to all the DIY'ers out there who have once again piqued my interest in audiophile things. (Thanks)

A question. I have a pair of pristine Martin Logal Sequel panels in storage, and have already built HV power supplies and ESL driver transformers for them. My intent was to use them with an Onyko Integra "Grand" amp I have. I'd use the Sequels for mids and highs, with a hefty Class D plate amp and 2 x 15" woofers in transmission line enclosures for bass. (Have a Driverack 260 that I'll use for crossover and equalization).

I'm pondering how well the F5 would match up with the Sequel panels. I suspect the efficiency of the panels would be problematic, when used with the F5. Anyone have any thoughts about this combination?

Thanks--if nothing else, when the amp is done and I have the TL subs built, I might have to settle in with a good bottle of Merlot and experiment.

Ken
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2010, 12:33 PM   #2
ramallo is offline ramallo  Europe
diyAudio Member
 
ramallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madrid
Send a message via Skype™ to ramallo
Hello,

I tried the F5 with an Apogee Stages and a Quad ESL2805. Superb with both loudspeakers, the best sounding amplifier I tried with the Stages, but a bit short of power on both.

I believe will be a nice idea use two F5's, one per channel in bridge.

With the Apogees the amplifier runs cooler

Cheers

Last edited by ramallo; 14th December 2010 at 12:34 PM. Reason: add
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2010, 02:24 PM   #3
expert in tautology
diyAudio Member
 
bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York State USA
It will play, but it's really not enough power - even bridged or "X" versions are a little low in power imo... you need voltage swing for ESLs...

_-_-bear
__________________
_-_-bear
http://www.bearlabs.com -- Btw, I don't actually know anything, FYI -- [...2SJ74 Toshiba bogus asian parts - beware! ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2010, 06:57 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
vdi_nenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: PA, USA
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to vdi_nenna
A friend tried the F5 on an older set of Sound Labs ESL. Lacked power. Settled on 1000watt Spectron, just to give you an idea.
__________________
I build, therefore I am.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2010, 11:41 PM   #5
AVWERK is offline AVWERK  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: OC,Calif.
Having an pair of
SL3's myself, you need to design in a skanspeak mid bass driver between your proposed 15" woofer and ML panel. The stock SL3 has a terrible mid bass to speak of already with its 10" woofer transition.

Regards
David
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 07:24 PM   #6
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Historically I've driven Sequels with ordinary 50 and 100
watt amplifiers, but I have modest SPL needs.

  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 07:56 PM   #7
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramallo View Post
Hello,

I tried the F5 with an Apogee Stages and a Quad ESL2805. Superb with both loudspeakers, the best sounding amplifier I tried with the Stages, but a bit short of power on both.

I believe will be a nice idea use two F5's, one per channel in bridge.

With the Apogees the amplifier runs cooler

Cheers....
wouldn't bridging be worst due to the impedance ...? cant imagine an F5 powering Apps..



Quote:
Originally Posted by bear View Post
It will play, but it's really not enough power - even bridged or "X" versions are a little low in power imo... you need voltage swing for ESLs...

_-_-bear
and Current for the Apps ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th December 2010, 07:57 PM   #8
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
Sin Bin
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Pass View Post
Historically I've driven Sequels with ordinary 50 and 100
watt amplifiers, but I have modest SPL needs.

100 watt F5's ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2010, 01:42 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Quote: "Having an pair of SL3's myself, you need to design in a skanspeak mid bass driver between your proposed 15" woofer and ML panel. The stock SL3 has a terrible mid bass to speak of already with its 10" woofer transition."

----Great minds, David, on your comment above. Actually I've bought a dozen 7" shielded woofers (Dayton Audio RS180S-8) that I tentatively plan on using with the ML panels. Two enclosures--each with a SL3 panel, and a linear array of six each 7" woofers (I almost hate to call a 7" speaker a "woofer", but Dayton Audio does). I'll let the Driverack serve as the cross-over and equalizer between the three subsystems. All of this might become overkill--will give it more thought, as I get closer to cutting timber.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2010, 01:46 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Nelson, and all--thanks for your inputs. I'll probably use the F5 with conventional speakers, and use the Onkyo Grand on the ESLs in the other audio room....

Nelson--agreed, on the conservative listening levels. I'm the same--unless, of course, I want to fire up the Greatful Dead, Grand Funk, Vanilla Fudge, or Tower of Power to blow the dust of the rafters in the old listening room....(!)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Martin Logan Sequel II - $550 mbcouple Swap Meet 18 13th April 2011 03:38 AM
Refurbing Martin Logan CLS panels GlidingDutchman Planars & Exotics 12 14th November 2009 02:59 PM
Martin Logan CLS panels - new Mylar trondareo Planars & Exotics 1 11th October 2009 05:34 PM
Martin Logan SL-2 Panels....help! CanAm Man Planars & Exotics 10 15th February 2008 10:20 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2