Semisouth Aleph J?

I have been reading here, there, and everywhere about the different Pass amps that have been made. I have many questions which is evidenced by my random scatter-brained post. MY question for this thread concerns the possibilty of substituting the Semisouth power J-Fet's in the Aleph J layout. THis uninformed question is based on the firstwatt articles including specifically the Sweet Spot. I am a newb, but have plenty of time to ask questions :devily: while simultaneously trying to figure out what the hell i am talking about. If this is doable, i will probably go ahead and buy the pcb's from Peter if they are still available. MY thinking is that this amp would be similar to the J2. I would just do the F5, which is a much easier build according to most, but i have limited funds and think, at least for now, this is what i want.

The one and only
Joined 2001
Paid Member
It's a pretty similar topology, but the details of biasing the
dual input pairs and the top side output current source are
different.

Specifically, I use a mu follower circuit to due what used to
be the "Aleph" portion, as the lower threshold voltages of the
power Jfets do not allow high enough Vce voltage for the
bipolar control transistors to have as good performance.

:cool:

I would think..:scratch2: that i stand to gain very little if anything by replacing one set of fets with another. I have found a simplified version of the mu follower typology. I will see if i can work with that. THe output seems familiar so i will have to go back over the various articles and schematics and see what i can find. This is like treasure hunting and I am a pirate with two eye patches.:Pirate: