Mezmerize DCB1 Building Thread - Page 61 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd July 2012, 06:45 PM   #601
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks for the feedback. Comforting to know.
I didn't see any problems with the offset on the output, so I was pretty sure it was OK.

The shunt regulator is dead silent I had problems finding any noise on the scope (highest resolution is 2 mV/div and at this setting I could barely make out some fuzz on plot, certainly less than 0.5mV). Thanks for the brilliant design. I'm thinking this would be great in a DAC.

the Mez is sitting on my desk right now. Without any load, the fins on the IRFs are not even warm.. Makes me want to try a 9R hotrod (200 mA = ca 4 x current) with some more sinking.

I'm thinking of putting it into a case together with an ODAC (USB) and an optical/Coax DAC (not yet decided, recommendations are welcome) to give me 4 analog + 2 digital inputs making it an All-in-one stereo Preamp..
I guess I could run the DAC off a second shunt reg powered by the same transformer, no?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2012, 08:28 PM   #602
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator
 
Salas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens-Greece
Calculate the total consumption to see if your transformer is up to the task. Using the second shunt's CCS setting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2012, 02:37 AM   #603
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Is it possible to input DC into the Mezmerize board and increase the PS filtering? I have a separate good PS board, just curious.
Thanks,
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2012, 05:31 AM   #604
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator
 
Salas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens-Greece
If you will go directly to the filter caps positions you can feed DC there. Use some cap there at least 100uF to decouple the incoming DC wiring. Watch the polarities. You don't need to populate the diode positions or the Tx connector anymore of course.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2012, 06:05 PM   #605
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salas View Post
If you will go directly to the filter caps positions you can feed DC there. Use some cap there at least 100uF to decouple the incoming DC wiring. Watch the polarities. You don't need to populate the diode positions or the Tx connector anymore of course.
Thanks Salas,
Just to make it perfectly clear to me, 'cause I don't want to screw this up and I'm unsure of what I'm doing, please confirm this for me. Photo below.

1) The capacitors SHOULD be installed + / - as labeled on the board. (Caps are 4,700 uF 35V Nichicon Gold Tone)
2) The Red circle should be connected to the - negative DC input
3) A jumper installed across the Green oval , and the + Positive DC input should be connected here.
4) All jumpers on board (to connect -) should be installed.
Don't short AC-in jumper with + jumper at Green oval ( 8-0 )

Do I have this correct?
Thank you VERY much for your help.
Ron
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2012-09-28_10.56.01.jpg (167.2 KB, 415 views)
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.

Last edited by Renron; 28th September 2012 at 06:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2012, 06:28 PM   #606
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator
 
Salas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens-Greece
1. Install 100uF 35V wiring decouple capacitors where the 4700uF are designated. If you want heavier local caps, your choice. White stripes are (-). Used to be a rock band duo also but that's OT.
2. You connect incoming GND wire from your other board raw supply there, see pics.
3. No new jumper in the specific area than the long white one. In double sided boards should be a via under the white ink also if you will do a continuity check with your DMM, but do reinforce it. All other printed jumpers ditto.
Attached Images
File Type: png Mez_DC_Feed_detail2.png (7.5 KB, 399 views)
File Type: png Mez_DC_Feed_detail1.png (26.3 KB, 402 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2012, 02:24 PM   #607
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Salas,
Thank you for your help, I understand now.
White Stripes?
Red Stripe.........Yeah BEER!

I'm sure I'll have more questions as I progress, as it turns out my Primary PS doesn't output enough mA for a HOT ROD build. I was hoping not to run the A/C wires from the TX to the board. Careful detail to routing the wiring should work.
Thank you for your continued help with this thread.
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 06:09 PM   #608
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Back with more questions again.
What is the maximum recommended input voltage for the Mez?
I have an R-Core with (2) 15V secondaries, when I tie the outputs to make a CT, I have 37 Volts from rail to rail. This is unloaded Voltage. The power Company pushes the voltage higher than 110-115V in my area, ~123V normally, hence the 37V unloaded.
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 06:15 PM   #609
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator
 
Salas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens-Greece
20-25V DC per rail. You probably gonna get ~24VDC with that Tx at your normal local mains.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2012, 06:16 PM   #610
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
That should be fine. Just dont run it in series, needs to be parallel. Run ground to center, and the hot wires to either side.
__________________
Salas Boards 2014 #2 SHIPPING |F5TC board and power supplies available PM | Hot-Rod DCB1 boards and kits available PM |Mesmerize kits available (no boards)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : F3 PCB + PSU - Hypnotize - Mezmerize - LightSpeed korben69 Swap Meet 16 21st June 2013 06:52 AM
WTB Mezmerize PCB 3GGG Swap Meet 3 16th January 2011 09:15 AM
My XXLS Subwoofer building thread... harrisni Subwoofers 9 28th October 2007 08:21 PM
Fave song from SOAD 'Mezmerize'? PeteMcK Music 6 8th March 2006 03:12 AM
Gainclone building thread based on BrianGT's boards meat Chip Amps 752 8th August 2004 06:25 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2