Mezmerize DCB1 Building Thread

This is my first time testing JFET's. I've tested 14 pcs.
Could someone look at my number's and see if they make since.

I'm hoping #s,1,4,6,and 14 are close enough for the signal path, and the remaining are okay for the PSU.

Thanks so much for any help.

Attachments

• Capture-JFET.JPG
    Capture-JFET.JPG
    184 KB · Views: 521
Joined 2017
Paid Member
looking for alternatives

Dear Community

I'm in the process of ordering the parts, which is fun already.
But there are—of course—issues, which I'd like to come around:

I'm sticking to the Mezmerize "10 Years After" BOM and Notes (PDF) from the diyAShop, it is very helpful.

But there are a few parts I can't seem to find. I'm in Switzerland, and I suspect this is the cause of some parts not being available from mouser.

The parts in question are:

transformator (recommended alternative? how about R-Core?)
LED (What values are important—current, voltage, power?)
Fischer Side-sinks
Pot ALPS RK27 (20k... 20k is ideal I presume? Mouser offers 10k or 100k)

I know, this is out of my ignorance, but I'd be glad for advice...

Thanks many times!

david

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
- Any type transformer you prefer in 2x15VAC 50VA spec

- VF at 5mA 1.8V-1.9V (see datasheet I/V curve) many red or orange LED will do. Example Kingbright WP2773ND.

- You can alternative mount the MOSFETS at the chassis floor to cool. Else any sinks with comparable C/W spec to the Fischer that fit the space.

- Farnell/Newark/Element14 for the 20K Alps and the Fischer?

- 10K also works if there's no way to get the 20K. The latter can be a milder load on the source equipment.

My head is spinning regarding what pot choice to choose for my DCB1.

There’s three choices:

Khozmo Series pot, impedance 25K (steady impedance, but a ‘series’ of resistors and solder joins in the signal path).