ZVP3310 - Good choice as input fet for Aleph 30 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd September 2010, 04:12 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default ZVP3310 - Good choice as input fet for Aleph 30

Edit: My thread title was supposed to be a question not a statement, but I can't edit it accordingly.

Hi All,

Firstly, let me apologise if what I am about to say is completely incorrect. I am very new to this and know nothing Always keen to be set straight.

I have been informed that modern IRF9610s are not as linear as the older versions due to differing manufacturing techniques. Whether this is significant or not, I have also been thinking that perhaps the 9610 is over rated as an input fet for the Aleph amplifiers, and that a smaller signal fet may be more linear in this application.

It seems to me that using any fet that is significantly overrated for a task means also dealing with more gate capacitance which is a bad thing. NP pushes the running of fets at high currents ideology, and it seems that the 9610s are also not being pushed in this application. That said, I know NP has his reasons for everything, and I am sure there is a good reason why he chose the 9610 that I am not aware of.

Anyway, I have been looking for a direct drop in improvement that will not require any resistor/bias changes. This rules out any JFETs.