Balanced F5 question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
> http://www.semicon.toshiba.co.jp/eng...28g_chap03.pdf

Take a look at Figure 2.2 first.

Even with a heatsink temperature of 67°C, I calculated that

for 32W per MOSFET + Keratherm 86/82 TO247 insulator, junction temperature will be just below 100°C.
No reliability issue for me.
And there are still ways to reduce the peak sink temperature.

Average sink temperature will stay 57°C.

:cheers:

Patrick

Last edited:
thanh1973, You stated the Pd was approx. 135W. with what transistor? What Tj-case? What interface? I'm no expert but it came to mind that you could have a really sheety interface and Tj-c and there is no where near 135W being disapated in those sinks? It could all be in a 175C junction instead?
I'm not trying to criticise your work or efforts but I think we need that data too, in order to get a real working condition estimate? :Pawprint:
However, the last big GB on these sinks kinda came up with the conclusion that 100W was a cool number :cool:

> I'm no expert but it came to mind that you could have a really sheety interface and Tj-c and there is no where near 135W being dissipated in those sinks?

First I have a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering.

At steady state, ALL heat is dissipated through the heat sink, however "sheety" the interface is.
If you would believe me, and I know what I am talking about in mechanical things, then we have no transistor reliability problems even with 67°C sink temperature. If you want to believe what people give out here as holy rules and not look at the science, then as I said, use a Hifi2000 case or something of similar size.

When I am eventually finished with the case design, the sink temperature will drop further.

There is nothing to criticise in thanh's experiment IMHO. The results agree with manufacturer's data 100%.