F5 Cascode and parallel output device questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th August 2010, 08:16 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default F5 Cascode and parallel output device questions

I'm new to DIY Audio and I'm building an F5 as my first project. I'm going to build it to spec (except changing R20 and R21 to 22K).

I'm curious about trying to get more watts into 8 ohms. Is the purpose of cascoding so one can increase operating voltage and get more watts? I see folks adding parallel output devices (multiple IRFP9240s and IRFP240s), but it seems that only helps at low impedance.

What is the advantage of cascoding?

Can one increase biasing with more output devices (provided one has the coolig to do so) to increase power?

I'm guessing these questions are fairly simple, but I was confused after a few dozen pages of the F5 thread.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:03 AM   #2
juma is offline juma  Germany
diyAudio Member

texas11,
just keep reading, that story has been told in this thread at least 3 times...
Old 12th August 2010, 11:23 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by juma View Post
texas11,
I dont blame him, I've read the whole thing and I'm still not clear, and I was one of the ones asking one of those 3 times! The story keeps getting told, and while there is good info in Cviller
s blog, as far as implementing it with his boards, not much info as to effect, short of stating more current can be delivered into difficult loads and so forth, but nothing as to power output other than stating it could be done....

Russellc

Last edited by Russellc; 12th August 2010 at 11:26 AM.
Old 12th August 2010, 11:50 AM   #4
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by juma View Post
texas11,