s150 blown neg rail fuse

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I've been enjoying audio for some years now, and have even built my own pro-ac r2 clones and recently the ALPHA LS. I've never had any amp issues (until now) so I'm quite new to the whole circuit/smoke thing. My Threshold S-150 just quite working on me yesterday. I was pushing it a bit hard but not enough to get it hot, just over warm. One channel now blows the neg rail fuse on power up. I'd like to try to repair myself as I can not afford to send out for repair at this time. A visual inspection shows no signs of burnt areas. My hope is someone who might know how/where to start trouble shooting with the particular model could get me started.

Thanks
Joe

The one and only
Joined 2001
Paid Member
Occasionally a fuse just gets old and starts to have greater
resistance internally or in the mechanical connection, and
then it heats up and dies.

I would replace it with a fast blow fuse of a lower value and
turn on the amp with nothing connected to it, and see if the
fuse blows again.

:cool:

The one and only
Joined 2001
Paid Member
That means the amp is broken. Probably failed output devices.

If you check Collector - Emitter with an ohmmeter, the failed
device will be a probably be shorted. Compare that with other
devices, and the good ones will measure about an ohm higher
because of the emitter resistors on the parts.

Unplug the amp and pull the output fuses before you do this.

:cool:

OK just to be clear ...

Can I check the devices on the board or do I have unbolt and de-solder the devices ?

I have seen other posts that state that the correct bias is achieved when the heat sinks are at a certain temperature range, what would be a "safe" bias current to get started at ? Where/how should this value be measured ?

What would the correct replacement device(s) part number be ?