Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th May 2010, 03:23 PM   #21
Vix is offline Vix  Yugoslavia
diyAudio Member
 
Vix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ver Halen View Post
Hi Paul:

Not sure how a passive pre would affect the sound with these, I just have not tried it.
I am using Zen V9 (in other words, F3) with a B1 buffer, into Visaton B200 in Open Baffle. Even though gain of Zv9 is on the low side, if you have efficient speakers, it's more than enough.
Oh, and it sounds good, too
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 03:32 PM   #22
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Vix, I agree. F3, F5 clone's I've built need no preamplification going into Lowthers in open baffle. (Both DX4 and now PM5A )
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 09:12 PM   #23
Telstar is offline Telstar  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbender View Post
I know I want a (DIY) J2. I'm ready for that schematic! Time to start gathering bits and pieces!
You are not alone
__________________
"The total harmonic distortion is not a measure of the degree of distastefulness to the listener and it is recommended that its use should be discontinued." D. Masa, 1938
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 09:13 PM   #24
vizion is offline vizion  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nobody mentions the M2. I'm sure that's quite sweet too. Especially with an autoformer input driver.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 09:16 PM   #25
Telstar is offline Telstar  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by vizion View Post
Hi Paul,

What gauge are your speaker cables for the SET ?
If this can help, with my F3 clone i use solid core DNM cables (the thicker ones). But my FR are highpassed at 300hz and below there, the huge kubala-sosna take the job.

Later I plan to diy something for the upper parts, I have a design that should work great.
__________________
"The total harmonic distortion is not a measure of the degree of distastefulness to the listener and it is recommended that its use should be discontinued." D. Masa, 1938
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FirstWatt J2 Blues Pass Labs 810 18th July 2013 05:32 PM
F2,J2,F3,F5 amps and driver layout Nicola Pass Labs 2 22nd February 2010 07:21 PM
The simplified schematic of J2 what I suppose to be. wensan Pass Labs 9 16th November 2009 09:09 AM
Adcom J2 8934m Ardvaark Parts 0 23rd July 2009 05:30 PM
WTT: One set of F4 boards for one set of F3 boards KT Swap Meet 0 16th May 2008 03:49 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2