Pictures of your diy Pass amplifier

Joined 2001
Paid Member
F4

Way late to the F4 party... Showing progress of one of my monoblocks. Boards have Dale PTF and CMF resistors, Susumu .47 1W SMD in a quad (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/part...-traditional-power-resistors.html#post5385455), matched triplets from Teabag with the Harris P-channel's to avoid the "IR problem", Elna Silmic 2's, 6.8mA idss jfets (about 5.4mA in circuit with 10 ohm source resistors), R9 at 5k and it biases up perfectly. Heatsink at 42C at thermal equilibrium, total 1.75A through the outputs. Fabricated a piece of veroboard to maybe try Ihquam's "Curly" gain stage. Already have jfets and some of the parts for that. But I would really like to try a nice high gain/swing tube preamp in front of this thing. I have shown this chassis before, it's had F5, BA-1, F6, and Aleph J in there. This began life as some sort of high current controller for a train braking application (I work in the rail industry). Two were being scrapped out so I managed to save them to make some unusual Class A monoblocks. Kinda hard to work in, like building a ship in a bottle. But they have worked out well for being free.

Attachments

• IMG_0244.jpg
    IMG_0244.jpg
    979.2 KB · Views: 1,900
  • IMG_0242.jpg
    IMG_0242.jpg
    987.4 KB · Views: 1,841
  • IMG_0245.jpg
    IMG_0245.jpg
    988.7 KB · Views: 1,605
  • IMG_0246.jpg
    IMG_0246.jpg
    787.9 KB · Views: 1,659
F5 Prototyp --the fugly one :))

Hello community,
here is my Prototype of a F5 Pass Amp buit with used parts from an Onkyo and Denon reciever. A lot of mechanical effort was made to do this parts together.
.........fugly ....what else....:D

I have no hum or something else and I´m very happy with the sound.
I use 2SK 1058 and 2SJ 162 FET -but ATTENTION you have to CROSS OVER the pins for Drain and Source.

thanks Mr Nelson Pass and all others in the community to help with their technical recommendations and tips.

Some questions appear for me: