Grounding Question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In an effort to put together my first hi-fi stereo system I bought what was advertised as an Aleph J off an individual through Craigslist. I finally got the rest of my components and am starting to play some music through it. I had to fix the switch, which after soldering the correct wires in the correct places works properly. However, I am concerned about two things: 1) I get a static electricity shock when I touch the amp and 2) there does not seem to be a fuse.

I'd like to not get shocked when touching my amp. I'm new to music amps and it kinda freaks me out. So, I think that it is because the amp is not properly grounded. Any thoughts/suggestions/fixes?

I think it would be safer to operate the amp with a fuse. What power/strength should I get?

Thanks,
Bill

Joined 2004
Paid Member
I'd strongly recommend that you pull the amp's plug and don't power it on again until it's chassis is properly connected to earth and fuses are fitted.
U sure the outlet has a proper earth-connection? You can check this with a multimeter, but do it only iff you're really sure how to do this...

A switch is optional, but a fuse is strictly mandatory!

If you search around in the forum you should find the schematic of the Aleoh J somewhere. This amp usually sports a +/-24VDC supply. It's probably similar to the F4's psu. http://www.firstwatt.com/downloads/f4_om.pdf
At firstwatt you can also find the AJ's owner manual.

You can see that there is a fuse before the single-pole switch. The two secondaries are used to make a bipolar supply whose ground is connected to earth via a thermistor (CL60). The chassis is earth-grounded directly.

And please, some pictures would help.

Upon closer inspection the IEC socket has a built in fuse.