Grounding Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th December 2009, 02:20 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Grounding Question

In an effort to put together my first hi-fi stereo system I bought what was advertised as an Aleph J off an individual through Craigslist. I finally got the rest of my components and am starting to play some music through it. I had to fix the switch, which after soldering the correct wires in the correct places works properly. However, I am concerned about two things: 1) I get a static electricity shock when I touch the amp and 2) there does not seem to be a fuse.

I'd like to not get shocked when touching my amp. I'm new to music amps and it kinda freaks me out. So, I think that it is because the amp is not properly grounded. Any thoughts/suggestions/fixes?

I think it would be safer to operate the amp with a fuse. What power/strength should I get?

Thanks,
Bill
Old 29th December 2009, 12:53 PM   #2
hates ground loops
diyAudio Member

I'd strongly recommend that you pull the amp's plug and don't power it on again until it's chassis is properly connected to earth and fuses are fitted.
U sure the outlet has a proper earth-connection? You can check this with a multimeter, but do it only iff you're really sure how to do this...

A switch is optional, but a fuse is strictly mandatory!

If you search around in the forum you should find the schematic of the Aleoh J somewhere. This amp usually sports a +/-24VDC supply. It's probably similar to the F4's psu. http://www.firstwatt.com/downloads/f4_om.pdf
At firstwatt you can also find the AJ's owner manual.