I need Help with my F5.... - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th November 2009, 11:58 PM   #11
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I don't know.

  Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 12:07 AM   #12
toufu is offline toufu  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Francisco
I did the exact same thing. But I had a fuse hooked up and it blew everytime I applied voltage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 12:40 AM   #13
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Maybe, if you are lucky you have just shortened expected lifespan of your caps
By how much ?
I better say, I dont know

Anyway, with regards to amps, or other electronics, who knows what we listen to in the years to come
When my F5 amps are built, I know Im gonna build myself a nice and easy tube amp, thats fore sure, SimplePP

Ehh, no joking, maybe you should check once in a while that your caps doesnt run hot
But at some point, when you have "recovered", maybe best change them, not to always have the doubt

Last edited by tinitus; 1st December 2009 at 12:57 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 09:46 PM   #14
hates ground loops
diyAudio Member
 
Rodeodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in the alps
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtate View Post
...
They did get warm and if Ilistened very closley, I think that they were starting to boil
Don't ever get your face near something you power up for the first time, this could cost you your eyesight or hearing. Stand back and read the meters...
__________________
Gravity - Making the G since 13.7 billion B.C.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009, 11:10 PM   #15
diyAudio Member
 
Jacques Merde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodeodave View Post
Don't ever get your face near something you power up for the first time, this could cost you your eyesight or hearing. Stand back and read the meters...
Good advice. I had one blow up not-quite-in-my-face once . Wasn't expecting it at all -- I just about jumped out of my skin .
The cap in question had significantly less energy storage than these, too. It made one hell of a mess, with shards of foil and paper and electrolyte everywhere. Had I been situated differently, one of those shards could have easily taken out an eye.

Anyway, if it was me, I'd change them out at the earliest opportunity. You can be sure the experience didn't extend their expected life
__________________
"For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong." -- H.L. Mencken
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009, 12:07 AM   #16
rtate is offline rtate  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
So I have it all hooked up and have gone through the initial set-up of Bias and offset.

Every thing seem ok and the caps appear to have survived and are operating as they should.

I still may replace them in the near future just as a precautionary measure....
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2