APOX volume-input for Aleph P1.7 question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

After playing with a Thel pre-amp, three different tube pre-amps I decided to build a B1. B1 one was the best pre-amp I have ever used in my system but I did not have enough gain.

I stumbled into a pair ready build P1.7 boards and decided to buy them.
The seller also offered me a ready build APOX. Just what I needed so bought that also. So here comes the problem an question. I'm not an electronics engineer so I need a little help.

Question 1; I have build a 5V powersupply. Can I just connect this to the APOX IR1 (rev3), the APOX-1 (rev3) and the APOX-IS 1(rev2)?

Question 2; It took me some time to understand the term "daisy-chaining" but I managed. Is it correct to daisy-chain from IR-1 to APOX-1 I2C "IN" and from APOX-1 I2C "OUT" to IS-1 I2C. Is there a difference between I2C SV 1 or SV2 on IS-1?

Question 3: If I have done all the above, can I connect power without smoke or flames?

So far the questions. There will prabably more in the future... :bulb:

Last edited:
I took a quick look. I must admit I am not sure exactly what you have.
The designer frequents this board. Google of APOX brought up this thread http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/dantimax/42589-remote-control-kits.html

Having said that, everything I saw was 74xxHC TTL 5 volt parts. The Sales blurb specified +5V at unspecified current.

If you want more intelligent help, post the links to the products you have.
I am very poor at guessing.

HTH

Doug

Hi Doug. Thanks for your reply.

Other information is here: Apox Controls
The APOX is not for sale anymore...

This is how it looks.

Bottom PCB is a double deck. Connected through SV1.
My guess is to connect the APOX 1 (middle PCB) to SV1.

Pic below is how I think it should be done.

4005879766_edeb32dc10_b.jpg

Attachments

• DPP07D90A0C133A35.jpg
    DPP07D90A0C133A35.jpg