First Watt F1 - compensation network for fostex 126e - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th October 2009, 02:57 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default First Watt F1 - compensation network for fostex 126e

I was wondering if any firstwatt F1 owners out there have compensation network values for using with the fostex 126e. I have the hornshoppe horns with the 126e and plan on picking up a FW F1 hopefully soon to drive them - the article on NP's website has network values for the older driver the fostex 108ez. If there happens to be any F1 owners that can add in their own ideas about maximizing the performance of the F1 with Ed's hornshoppe horns I would appreciate it. I know from other reading that some people have loaded the output of the amp to give it some more damping factor from the stock 80 ohms out, as well as stuffing the horns themselves.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2009, 10:45 PM   #2
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I haven't tried the 126, but you can look at what worked
for the 166e and such. You will simply need to get a couple
of caps and resistors together and see what works for you.

I assume that you have downloaded a copy of the article
I wrote on current source amps and full range speakers.

http://www.passdiy.com/pdf/cs-amps-speakers.pdf

  Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2009, 12:54 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thank you NP - and yes I have downloaded the article and read through many times. I'll experiment with the values for the 166 in the abbeys and go from there, but obviously will need to compensate for the rear horn loading action in the hornshoppes, as well as mess around with stuffing the horn if I get too much upper bass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 05:58 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
F1 landed in yesterday, woo hoo. Nice to have a signed hard copy of the manual as well. The bass is pretty fantastic, though I will have to mess around with loading some resistance on the output (R0 in the manual I believe).

NP or others, what is the easiest way of implementing something temporary that I can mess around with different resistor values (thinking 10, 22, and 47 to start)? Once I find the value that sounds best to my ears I will probably just wire it internally but for now need to come up with a temporary solution to mess around with a bit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 09:32 PM   #5
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Go down to Radio Shack and buy some clip leads,
film capacitors from .1 to 10 uF, and power resistors
from 1 to 10 ohms. After you get it as good as it gets,
then buy some nice parts of the same values.

  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 09:36 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
excellent
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2009, 11:08 PM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Just got back from the shack, picked up some 10 ohm and 50 ohm 10 Watt wirewounds...

the 10 ohms are currently in, wow, who would have thunk what a little dampening would do...so much better, the bass was just a bit too bloated and overhung before. Thanks NP, these horns seem to like your F1 a lot.

One last thing - is the inductive nature of the wirewounds an issue for the F1? I would imagine not but figured I would ask.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendations for a tweeter for Fostex fe-126e? boidos Full Range 11 1st July 2009 04:45 AM
Fostex 126e or 127e germpod Full Range 71 9th May 2008 07:26 PM
Fostex FE 126E HoJ Multi-Way 9 29th August 2007 04:42 PM
Building Fostex 126E Help needed ddmddm Full Range 1 16th December 2005 05:44 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:39 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2