Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th June 2009, 04:33 PM   #11
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
BMM have nice 230V Amplimo trafos
__________________
sometimes we know very little, and sometimes we know too much
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 08:02 PM   #12
NV&H is offline NV&H  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
It will be used in the US. Again, everything is as specified by Nelson's F5 article except for the single primary winding. For 120V operation, Nelson's design shows twin primaries (in parallel with caps and thermistors bridging across).

Can anyone tell me what kind of problem I'll have with a single primary winding? Yes, it's a first build for me.
__________________
NV&H
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 08:52 PM   #13
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally posted by NV&H
It will be used in the US. Again, everything is as specified by Nelson's F5 article except for the single primary winding. For 120V operation, Nelson's design shows twin primaries (in parallel with caps and thermistors bridging across).

Can anyone tell me what kind of problem I'll have with a single primary winding? Yes, it's a first build for me.

The reason for dual primaries is so you can configure the transformer windings for use almost anywhere in the world. If you have a single primary which is 120V, you can use it in US but not France. If the primary voltage is 220 then you can't use it in USA.

Get the picture?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 09:21 PM   #14
Formerly "jh6you". R.I.P.
 
Babowana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally posted by NV&H


Can anyone tell me what kind of problem I'll have with a single primary winding?


If you connect it to the 240V main, you might get 2 x 36Vac in secondaries, but with allowance of halved maximum current.

And, you should check if the transformer is made not only for 60Hz-main (in USA?), but also for 50Hz-main (in France?).


  Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 09:48 PM   #15
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Maybe we are assuming you have a 120v primary when you have a 230Volt one. What is the primary voltage?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2009, 09:57 PM   #16
NV&H is offline NV&H  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Quote:
Originally posted by labjr



The reason for dual primaries is so you can configure the transformer windings for use almost anywhere in the world. If you have a single primary which is 120V, you can use it in US but not France. If the primary voltage is 220 then you can't use it in USA.

Get the picture?
That's it?? When I saw the twin primaries Nelson uses for his commercial F5 with the twin thermistors with the cap jumping across, I assumed there was more to it than that. If not, I'm certainly happy with that. I guess it would be beneficial to Nelson if he can use the same transformer model whether its for domestic use or export!!! Silly me.

Thanks for everyones help!!
__________________
NV&H
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use a single primary 120V transformer with 240V? hershann Power Supplies 6 24th January 2008 02:02 PM
Using transformer primary as an autoformer stoolpigeon Everything Else 8 22nd April 2007 06:17 AM
Trafo- 225VA , single 117V primary, Dual 40V secondaries Illusus Swap Meet 3 11th December 2003 04:07 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:50 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2