Building a symmetrical psu B1 buffer - Page 108 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th March 2010, 09:08 PM   #1071
diyAudio Member

I have been listening to it for a while, some differents cds of various artists.I'm not very good at critical listening, but I will try to describe what I hear.

Music seems to be more holographic, the spacial sense of the instruments get improved. I play bass too, and I can hear more defined notes, like if the string were there, vibrating in front of you head
In the strings from the guitar happens the same, they apear all around you.
It is very fast too, I have lot of recordings with fast played instruments, and hearing them you can realize every stop, every note after the other. Fast played drums are very defined, every one is in his place and sounding only when they should.

I hope this amateur opinion will encourage you to try this mod. You only need to source some tiny heatsinks and a pair of resistors. And, if you don't notice anything or like it anymore, just swap the older ones in a minute.

Regards
Old 9th March 2010, 01:11 AM   #1072
Salas is offline Salas  Greece
diyAudio Chief Moderator

is good for the glowing shunties. As for the polar bear...
Old 9th March 2010, 01:43 AM   #1073
The one and only

Gordon Holt offered a number of great observations, one of them
being (paraphrased) "You can hear everything that is done to
the signal"

Old 9th March 2010, 10:42 AM   #1074
diyAudio Member

So I spent more time last night listening to the capacitor mod (see here: cap mod suggestion by salas