Compact Single-Ended Class A Build - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th December 2008, 08:01 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to inspiribomb Send a message via MSN to inspiribomb
Default Compact Single-Ended Class A Build

Hi guys! My name is Aaron, and I'm new to this board, but frequent other audio-related sites as well.

Until recently I had been running a pair of Channel Islands Audio D-200 Class D monoblocks. They are superb amps, but I recently bought a CEC AMP53 single-ended class A amp. It sounds truly amazing, and has inspired me to set about building a pair of amps for myself.

I am a Mechanical Engineer, and have some ideas roughed up for the enclosure/chassis, but am looking for some tips on which circuit to use. The plan is to build a pair of monoblocks - single-ended Class A, that put out somewhere between 30 and 50 watts per channel into 8 ohms. Problem is, this forum is daunting, with 50+ pages in some of the threads. What would be a good circuit/build to go with to accomplish this? Simplicity and purity are key...

I also want these to be fairly compact amps, so a small circuit would be preferable. Cooling won't be an issue, I have that taken care of. Also, planning to go with external matching enclosures to hold the power supply and associated circuitry. Elegantly industrial is what I'm going for. Or industrial elegance?

So, with those goals in mind, what can you recommend? Glad to be a part of this community now
Old 20th December 2008, 08:27 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Check out the Aleph30 or mini-A threads. The A30 is 30 watts into 8 ohms and pretty easy to built.

-David
Old 20th December 2008, 11:46 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

How small is small?