First Watt F1 Build with boards - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th December 2008, 05:54 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
hifimaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose
Default First Watt F1 Build with boards

Hello,

I'm building a pair of F1's over the holiday break. Below are pictures of the main Amp board.

I'm looking for advice on these boards and any helpful input to improve the layout. This is a single sided board with all traces on the bottom layer and a ground plane on the top layer.

The board is 2"x6.5" or for our friends elsewhere in the world... 50.8mm X 165mm. The top layer silk screen is imaged here on both sides to help facilitate design ideas and perhaps catch any errors.

Thank you!

-David

Bottom layer looking through the top:
Click the image to open in full size.

Top View:
Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 05:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
hifimaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose
Here's the BOM for this F1:


Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 06:45 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
hifimaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose
Closer to actual size 2.0"x6.5" ... -David


Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 11:46 AM   #4
cfcubed is offline cfcubed  United States
diyAudio Member
 
cfcubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I'm no expert, but those FETs look awful close to one-another to me...

Unless you're doing liquid freon cooling or something, think you want an inch or more between them to allow them space to cool (depending on thickness of heatsink base & other characteristics.)
They get mighty hot Others may be able to be more specific.

You are probably trying to reduce PCB area due to cost, but something more like 9"x1.5" might make a better home for your FETs.

Re: Ground plane - Didn't have one on my F1 boards, didn't use them on the F2 boards I ExpressPCBed & still dead quiet on my FE126s. But again, no expert here.

Maybe you should share your heatsinking ideas to get feedback from some on that too
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 12:57 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Very nice work David

It looks like you could push the device spacing out if you wanted.

Did you originally do a single-sided layout? It looks like it would be a simple thing to make it single sided - would you mind if I used your artwork as a basis for my own? You don't have to send or post anything - I'll draw my own layout for etching but will modify for single sided.

Thanks for sharing and thanks to Nelson for being the first one to share

F1 is the only one I haven't started building (F4 and F5 running, F2 and F3 partially populated)
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 02:37 PM   #6
cfcubed is offline cfcubed  United States
diyAudio Member
 
cfcubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Yes, everyone's a critic incl me I guess Forgot complement on the looks of the board... Lot's better they my layouts
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 08:37 PM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
hifimaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose
Default F1 Boards

Thanks for the input. I've redrawn the boards to a width of 9"x2" to spread out the the mosfets for better heat distribution.

Here is version .92

After a little more feedback, I'm placing an order. Does anyone else need F1 boards?

-David

Bottom layer looking through the top:
Click the image to open in full size.


Top with Silkscreen:
Click the image to open in full size.


Approximate actual size:
Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 09:01 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
grimberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: California, USA
Regarding your BOM, I suggest you purchase Vishay/Dale resistors and Wima capacitors from Mouser. They carry both MKP and FKP. If you search the forum you will see that some members have had issues with the vendor you have selected.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 10:16 PM   #9
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: F1 Boards

Quote:
Originally posted by dw8083
Thanks for the input. I've redrawn the boards to a width of 9"x2" to spread out the the mosfets for better heat distribution.

Here is version .92

After a little more feedback, I'm placing an order. Does anyone else need F1 boards?

-David

Bottom layer looking through the top:
Click the image to open in full size.


Top with Silkscreen:
Click the image to open in full size.


Approximate actual size:
Click the image to open in full size.

Sure, I would take some boards, but where is C3 1000uf cap gonna go? Is it hiding on me?
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2008, 02:58 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
hifimaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose
Default F1 Boards

Thanks mithomas, I fixed the C3 cap.

Below is version .93 of the boards. I'm hoping to find enough DIYer's for 10 or more boards for a small GB. 30 boards are $18.00 each, 40 boards are $15.00 each
- plus shipping which is probably a buck in the US for a pair of boards. If we have enough interest, I'll get approval from Nelson to proceed.

The boards are 0.062" FR-4 epoxy glass, double sided, green solder mask on both sides, and with a silk screen on the top layer.
The copper traces are 1 1/4 oz. Dimensions are 2"x9" or 50.8mm x 228.6mm.

The top layer is a ground plane.

I appreciate any additional error checking or thoughts or challenges to the layout to improve it.

-David

Bottom Layer looking through the top:

Click the image to open in full size.

Top layer with Silk screen:

Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Watt F1 Boards suds Group Buys 30 29th August 2008 07:21 PM
How much to build 300-400 watt amp? saabracer23 Chip Amps 19 18th March 2007 07:58 AM
250 Watt FET AMP Circuit Boards auric Swap Meet 1 1st September 2006 07:26 AM
55 watt Aksa boards and power supply. Tony D. Swap Meet 4 11th August 2004 06:10 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2