Amplifier main capacitor replacement - voltage question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th November 2008, 05:27 AM   #1
Tino is offline Tino  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Amplifier main capacitor replacement - voltage question

Hi guys, I want to replace a pair of large main caps in an amp thats over 20 years old. The removal and insertion looks to be quit straight forward but my question is of voltage ratings on the caps.

The existing caps are 80V and 29000uF rating
The caps I found are 75V and 33000uF rating

Now I measured on the voltage across each cap's positive and negative terminal and get about 32.5V. I'm not an expert but the caps look like they are in series so should I be concerned at all at the 5V difference? I'm very far from the max voltage on the caps anyway...

Not sure if this pic will help but any suggestions regarding the swap will be welcome.

Click the image to open in full size.

PS anything wrong with CDE brand caps? Originals are Mallory.
Old 8th November 2008, 06:18 AM   #2
es44 is offline es44  Denmark
diyAudio Member

I don't think the caps are put in series, one is for positive, and the other is for negative voltage.
If the voltage is lower than ~70 volt at each rail, as it sounds like, i wouldn't hesitate changing them.

Have fun.
Ebbe
Old 8th November 2008, 06:22 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Yes you're very right. I inspected the amp closer and indeed on the back there is a fuse for the positve and negative rails. I guess I didnt look closely when I took that picture.