Best amp choice for driving NASTY speaker loads

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As some of you may know, I'm a big fan of electrostatic loudspeakers. I've been repairing the Quad ESL and Quad ESL-63 for about 10 years now. Last fall I finally got off my butt and built a set of hybrid ESL's which are quite satisfying. The problem is that they are very nasty reactive loads; see:

http://quadesl.com/speaker/diyesl/cone_vs_esl_impedance.gif

I've been a tube and tube amplifier fanatic for quite some time (with forays into solid state design). But with the amazing resolving power of these speakers, I'm hearing colorations in my source components like never before (the quads come with rose colored glasses, so tubes tend to be a bit more of the same). I'm now thinking that a low distortion, but polite solid state amplifier would be just the ticket.

I have been using a set of rebuilt Heath W5M's on the panels, and a Pass Aleph 3 on the bass modules (I know, it's a crime to use such a great amp only on the bass).

Currently the Aleph doesn't sound nearly as good on the panels as the Heaths (or citation II or Citation V) or a first generation Adcom 555. I've used the Aleph on less nasty loads and I know it's an amazingly good amplifier, that should be at the top of that list.

So my question is, given my nasty load situation, which pass design (or amplifier design in general) would you guys recommend?

I have been seriously thinking of the Citation 12 design (I've already got a citation 12 earmarked for it); it looks like it would be stable into reactive loads, has a simple short signal path, and strikes me as an all around good design.

Thanks,
Sheldon

It doesn't look THAT nasty; no dips to 1 ohm or weird drive angles. That 555 ought to work very well indeed.