Pass D1 I/V for Sabre DAC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I know that there are a lot of schematics on diyaudio for the D1 but I just want a simple one. I have searched and found JFET ones and modified ones, I want the original one. I am looking for a schematic for the D1 I/V stage and SE conversion without the DAC or supporting stuff. I do not know 100% which circuits are for the volume control, I/V, receiver, etc. so a simplified schematic or link to one would be a boon. I want to use this with a Twisted Pear Buffalo DAC which uses the ESS Sabre DAC chip. Thus I would like suggestions for proper compnent values as well and I will include the data sheet for the DAC in this post as well. Thanks in advance and please be patient with me, I am new to this.

Now I just have to wait and see what Mr. Pass says about the Audio Nirvana Cast Super 12 drivers, enclosures, and FW amps to drive them.

CSS Sabre data sheet:

http://www.4shared.com/file/39002019/8023812b/ES9008_DataSheet.html

I asked Khundude to contact me so we could discuss how to modify the D1 to be suited for the D1 I/V. I have made a few tries over at the groupbuy thread but haven't made it work as intended yet.

I guess to make it work it would be simple to lower the gain of the D1 and maybe raise the bias (or the I/V resistor).

Also I think that if the buffalo sees a to high input impediance it will go in to voltage mode instead of current mode.. This may also be a problem. But I'm not shure, so if someone could fill in maybe :)

I too would love to try this as an output for my buffalo - to be honest though I lack the knowledge required to suggest changes and so on. Can the buffalo be modified to put out the right amount to suit the D1?

Anyway, someone back up the thread referred to a group buy for the D1? Where would that group buy be? - I can't find it here?

Fran

Hi Fran,