Preamp ideas for F5 - Page 4 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th September 2008, 09:57 PM   #31
juma is offline juma  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
juma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod




Smrcilo se nebo od Zemuna k'o da ce g....a da padaju
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 10:04 PM   #32
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Oh, common guys, be serious about this. My ESLs sound like a Nokia without a preamp... (of course, if you listen to them over a mobile )

I know there are simpler solutions, but from a stupid's point of view, how about placing BOZ at input to get some gain and go with B1 after it. Then fit a selector between them and either use just the gain stage or just the buffer or use the buffer with added gain. Huh? Eighties recordings were made with a huge minus 12dB (early days of CD) and anything coming from the last couple of years has at least 6dB more gain added to it if not more... So, to avoid wasting the signal on the pot, just pass through the buffer or add some gain to Brothers in Arms...
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 10:10 PM   #33
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by juma



Smrcilo se nebo od Zemuna k'o da ce g....a da padaju
that's self-censorship, certainly

anyway - thunder was sommewhat faster than me - I have few hardware thingies ...... hm ....... "fused "


Quote:
Originally posted by stein2
Oh, common guys, be serious about this. My ESLs sound like a Nokia without a preamp... (of course, if you listen to them over a mobile )

I know there are simpler solutions, but from a stupid's point of view, how about placing BOZ at input to get some gain and go with B1 after it. Then fit a selector between them and either use just the gain stage or just the buffer or use the buffer with added gain. Huh? Eighties recordings were made with a huge minus 12dB (early days of CD) and anything coming from the last couple of years has at least 6dB more gain added to it if not more... So, to avoid wasting the signal on the pot, just pass through the buffer or add some gain to Brothers in Arms...
whazzat - serbo-hungarian forum ?

you forgot to say that your cat-teasers are hybrids in fact ........... still without lower boxes

we can make any of two Juma's proposals - they're both good enough and - with proper PSU and implementations , more than just better than 95% of FiFi preamps ........

patience , my wackoo Stipan friend ......
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 10:18 PM   #34
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod

...

patience , my wackoo Stipan friend ......

Well, I'll let you tell that to my wife when she asks me next time where the fcuk is the volume knob?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 11:03 PM   #35
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by stein2



Well, I'll let you tell that to my wife when she asks me next time where the fcuk is the volume knob?

I have few ideas what you can tell her .......... where da knob (of yours ) is ............

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 11:33 PM   #36
juma is offline juma  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
juma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally posted by stein2
...how about placing BOZ at input to get some gain and go with B1 after it...

BOZ won't make you happy (ask Zen Mod - he built it too) and you don't need B1 - Zin of F5 is 100k - it's like using a truck to move a feather
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2008, 11:50 PM   #37
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally posted by juma



BOZ won't make you happy (ask Zen Mod - he built it too) and you don't need B1 - Zin of F5 is 100k - it's like using a truck to move a feather

young Steiny meant on J fet BOZ .......
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2008, 07:45 AM   #38
juma is offline juma  Germany
diyAudio Member
 
juma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod

young Steiny meant on J fet BOZ .......

What, he plays a guitar or something...?
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2008, 09:11 AM   #39
stein2 is offline stein2  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
stein2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Subotica
Quote:
Originally posted by juma



What, he plays a guitar or something...?

Neha...
OUaT "young Steiny" tried playing bass guitar and had a group called "The Drama!" but it turned out to be a "Tragedy" at the end, so, instead of making, he rather tries to enjoy listening...
Looking at a preamp simple yet efficient and not spoiling the virtues of the F5 plus making it capable of driving a pair of electrostatics with enough gain in the preamp stage. The pot itself simply isn't enough because it just wastes the already low output level of the CD303 and similar devices. F5 can easily push around the weenie FE126E in it's hybrid enclosure but for those there is the Stradivari SE with EL34's, the F5 has to be capable of providing enough rush to make the panels shiver if it's required. Just yesterday, I was trying to give some more volume to Vaya Con Dios when I realised that the pot was already turned all the way and the volume was low enough to be able to talk over the phone a few steps from the panels...

Edit: So, one question about this one: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...amp=1221762706
Do I have to match the SK170 to pairs for this... ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2008, 09:12 AM   #40
Vix is offline Vix  Yugoslavia
diyAudio Member
 
Vix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Somewhere on Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally posted by Zen Mod



I have few ideas what you can tell her .......... where da knob (of yours ) is ............



The only problem is that she will ask you to increase the volume...
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discrete Op Amp Ideas for a Preamp analog_guy Solid State 16 16th June 2007 05:18 AM
Preamp signal wiring ideas ? gurevise Tubes / Valves 7 30th January 2007 08:19 PM
Ideas for preamp box design paulspencer Analog Line Level 5 26th August 2006 07:46 PM
Ideas for using one ECL82 in a preamp Tyimo Tubes / Valves 17 6th May 2006 06:35 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2