question about Aleph-3 , need help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi,

i just made aleph-3 its working fine as far i can see. i want to ask few questions about the voltage.

its says 25vdc + - but i applied 29v+- as i had the transformer. should it be any problem with bit higher voltage?

as my main voltage is 29vdc + - . i used two pair mosfets insted of 3 pair at output just for testing purpose. when i checked the main voltage, i have found it's drop to 27v. if i add more its drop bit more voltage. is it normal in class A to drop some voltage like this or my amp have some problem?

my heat sink temperature count after run 20mints rum 41c. our room temperature is 30c.

anyone can help me pls as i am new to class A amp.

thank you
michael

You can run the amp at 29vdc, if you have adequate heat sinking or adjust the bias. If needed, place additional resistance in the CRC portion of your power supply to drop the voltage a bit.

Also be sure to check the heat after 1 hour and every 30 minutes. The amp will get a lot hotter as it runs.

The rule of thumb is not to exceed 50c, or the output devices will be short lived. In a commercial set-up the temp sould be lower than this for trouble free longevity. My Aleph runs just below 50c after 2-3 hours with 28c ambient temp.

Search the forum, since there has been TONs written on tis topic.

-David

The original Aleph 3 had 4 output devices and the Aleph30 had 6 both per each stereo channel. Perhaps this will provide some benchmark. Look around the forum for A30 schematics to see the idea. The notion of paralleling more output devices is to distribute the load for reducing the stress of the output devices.

Also toss in some 3w or 5w resistors in parallel, in the "R" section of the CRC power supply, to drop some volts as needed.

Paralleling the resistors better dispates the heat.

-David

hi dw8083 ,