B1 Buffer Preamp

Some help please

Hi,

A newbie here again.

I just want to copy the original B1 design without doing much work on the PSU, as I feel it is safer if I use something ready made.

So, I would be grateful if someone could tell me if in principle this 18V PSU would work:

http://www.effectpowersupplies.com/...25.137.100/module.aspx?ModuleNo=96962&doy=1m8[/url]

Many thanks

Antonio

All you need is a cheapie $5 or less wallwart. Honestly.
You probably have one in your basement in that box o' cables and other junk you dont need anymore but since it was attached to something that cost a lot like a computer or router we seem to keep them in a big ol' box.
Just find one that is around 18V and you will be fine. It needs only 20ma so I doubt you can find an 18VDC wallwart that wont work.
Uriah

edit: in regards to your website
http://www.effectpowersupplies.com/18v-dc-regulated-power-supply-7-p.asp
will work fine, but its overpowered and expensive.

diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
No problem indeed.

Attachments

• screenshot.jpg
    screenshot.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 3,164
diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
Guys, I have looked in an old parts box and I have 10x 2N5459 and 6x 2SK170BL. The 5459s bunch around 5-6mA Idss. And I measured 2 matches. 2x5mA & 2X5.2mA. The 170s are 6.9, 8.7, 7.7, 6.8, 8.2, 7.35 mA.
What do you think? Use the 5459 pairs for an attempt on a hopefully capacitorless B1, or prefer the 6.9+6.8, 7.7+7.35 mA 2SK170s? The 5459s have a dB or so more noise on paper, but for a line buffer isn't a big deal. ----The main question is, do 2SK170s sound detectably better than mundane N-JFETs, when noise is not an issue?---- Does anybody know? Nelson?